New Zealand vs Sri Lanka Live Cricket Score: ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Group A match

Sri Lanka will look to start afresh under Angelo Mathews’ captaincy © Getty Images

Cardiff: Jun 9, 2013

New Zealand, who are riding high on confidence after their one-day series win over England, will take on Sri Lanka in the second match of the Group A in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 tournament on Sunday at Cardiff.

Brendon McCullum-led New Zealand are aware that Sri Lanka will throw up new challenges.

“We could conceivably be facing 30-35 overs of spin,” Black Caps coach Mike Hesson said ahead of the group A game.

“We need to be proactive against it,” he added.

Sri Lanka’s spin attack includes four capable tweakers in Sachitra Senanayake, Jeevan Mendis, Rangana Herath and Tillakaratne Dilshan. Unorthodox slow bowler Ajantha Mendis was not picked for the tournament.

With Lasith Malinga and steady seamer Nuwan Kulasekara also in the ranks, Sri Lanka have their options covered for what are expected to be good batting conditions in Cardiff.

(With inputs from PTI)


New Zealand: Luke Ronchi (wk), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (c), James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kushal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews(c),Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga, Lasith Malinga.
 Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the New Zealand vs Sri Lanka clash here