Home > News >

PCB announces new category ‘D’ contracts

Junaid Khan was a surprise inclusion in category 'A' © Getty Images
Junaid Khan was a surprise inclusion in category ‘A’ © Getty Images

Karachi: June 5, 2014

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) threw up a few surprises while releasing the new list of central contracts on Thursday with young pacer Junaid Khan bracketed in category ‘A,’ while senior batsman Younis Khan was relegated to group ‘B.’

Only five players including skipper Misbah ul Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal and left-arm pacer Junaid got ‘A’ level deals in a list of 31 contracted players. The top category will carry a monthly retainer of around 400,000 Pakistan Rupees as the board also announced encouraging pay hikes and other incentives for the players.

The board did not announce the exact monthly salaries for each category neither the basis on which the contracts have been given to so many players and Younis’s demotion from ‘A’ to ‘B’ also went unanswered. Although Younis has not been picked to play one-day internationals since March, 2013 by the selectors and has just played Test matches since than but Afridi has also stuck to ODIs and T20 matches since 2010.

Younis, who retired from T20 internationals in 2009, is placed in his category with Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal and pace bowler Umar Gul. The board instead of reducing the number of contracted players as it had indicated earlier introduced a new category ‘D’ in which 16 players were given contracts for the year.

The board has delayed announcing the list of contracted players for this year by atleast five months but chief selector and national team manager, Moin Khan said the contracts would be effective from January 1.  Moin said the board had announced number of financial incentives and pay hikes for the players to encourage them.

He said the central contract monthly fees had been enhanced by 25 per cent in all categories and the Test match fees also increased by 25 per cent. “The players will also get a 10 per cent enhancement in their one-day international match fees while their share of the logo fee has also been revised upward by 15 per cent, while some of the individual performance incentives have also been made more competitive,” Moin said.

Moin added the win bonus for series wins against the top three ICC ranked teams as well as India has also been increased from 200 per cent to 250 per cent. “We have taken into consideration all factors fitness and performances before deciding upon the players who should be given contracts for 2014 and the list includes some promising youngsters,” he added.

The category ‘C’ players are Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Adnan Akmal, Khurram Manzoor, Nasir Jamshed and spinner Abdur Rehman, while the newly introduced category ‘D’ contracts have been given to 16 players including Sohaib Maqsood, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Bilawal Bhatti, Sharjeel Khan, Zulfiqar Babar, Fawad Alam, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Raza Hasan, Umar Amin, Harris Sohail, Rahat Ali, Shaan Masood, Mohammad Talha and Anwar Ali.

West Indies in South Africa, 2014-15

Dec 17, 2014 (14:00 IST)   at Centurion

India tour of Australia, 2014-15

Dec 17, 2014 (05:29 IST)   at Woolloongabba, Brisbane

Pakistan vs New Zealand in UAE, 2014

Dec 19, 2014 (16:30 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

West Indies in South Africa, 2014-15

Dec 26, 2014 (14:00 IST)   at Port Elizabeth

Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand, 2014-15

Dec 26, 2014 (03:30 IST)   at Christchurch


Pakistan vs New Zealand in UAE, 2014

Dec 17, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

New Zealand won by 7 runs

England tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Dec 16, 2014  at Colombo

Sri Lanka won by 87 runs

Pakistan vs New Zealand in UAE, 2014

Dec 14, 2014  at Sharjah

Pakistan won by 147 runs

England tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Dec 13, 2014  at Pallekele

Sri Lanka won by 90 runs

Pakistan vs New Zealand in UAE, 2014

Dec 12, 2014  at Sharjah

New Zealand won by 4 wkts


India vs Australia, 2nd Test at Brisbane


Josh Hazlewood looks back at his 5-wicket haul

South Africa vs West Indies,1st Test, Day 2 at Centurion: Van Zyl completes 50 on debut, Amla closing in on 200

Australia 221/4 at stumps against India on Day 2 of 2nd Test at Brisbane

India vs Australia 2nd Test at Brisbane: Maiden wickets, an elusive ton, and other highlights from Day 1

Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane guide India to 311/4 against Australia on Day 1 of 1st Test at Brisbane

Australia India Interviews Ishant Sharma Moments in history Ravichandran Ashwin South Africa

Big Bash league 2014-15: Adelaide Strikers beat Melbourne Stars by 8 wickets

South Africa vs West Indies,1st Test, Day 2 at Centurion: Hashim Amla completes double ton, hosts cross 500

Josh Hazlewood can enter 200-wicket club, says Glenn McGrath

Pakistan vs New Zealand 2014: ODI series win will be major boost for hosts ahead of World Cup, feels Waqar Younis

India vs Australia 2014-15: Shane Watson must convert his starts into big scores, says Michael Slater

India vs Australia 2nd Test at Brisbane, Day 2: India’s familiar collapse, Umesh Yadav’s heroics and other highlights

Keki Tarapore – India’s manager on the successful West Indies tour of 1971

Shane Watson at No. 3? Australia may want to reconsider

Murali Vijay continues to make impressive progress against Australia

Cheteshwar Pujara’s dismissal: How can cricket eliminate the howler?

Fan of the Day

Suraj Gowda

Suraj Gowda

653 Posts | 10 Fans

India vs Australia: Murali Vijay's 144, Video highlights

प्रसिद्ध कथक नृत्यांगना सितारा देवी नहीं रही

More broadband connections to boost GDP growth in Asia Pacific: GSMA

India is becoming our largest overseas market, Xiaomi CEO Lei Jun says

Bigg Boss 8: Ali Quli Mirza, Renee Dhyani, Upen Patel, Praneet Bhatt, Sonali Raut – who should be evicted this week?

Revealed: The reason why Kishore Kumar’s biopic starring Ranbir Kapoor won’t feature Katrina Kaif!

अभिनेत्री प्रियंका चोपड़ा ने स्वच्छ भारत अभियान में हिस्सा लिया

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here