Home > Features > Facts and figures >

Phil Hughes smashes List A double-ton: List of batsmen who have achieved same feat

Phil Hughes scored 202 against South Africa A © Getty Images
Phil Hughes scored 202 against South Africa A © Getty Images

Jul 29, 2014

Phil Hughes became the first Australian batsman to score a double century in List A cricket. He achieved the milestone during the Quadrangular series Down Under, while playing for Australia A against South Africa A. Hughes hit 202 not out and is the 15th man to achieve the milestone in List A cricket. Thus, Hughes strengthens his case to make it back into the Australian one-day team. He played his last game for them in November 2013.

Here are some facts and figures about double tons in List A cricket:

  •  Alistair Brown is the only man to achieve the feat twice. He has the highest of 268, which he got in 2002 while playing for Surrey against Glamorgan. It remains the highest score in List A cricket. His first double ton came in 1997 against Hampshire.
  • Sachin Tendulkar was the first man to score a double hundred in One-Day Internationals (ODIs). He achieved the feat against South Africa at Gwalior in 2010. His compatriots Virender Sehwag and Rohit Sharma have emulated his feat since.
  • Graeme Pollock was the first man to score a double ton in List A cricket. He achieved the feat in 1974 while playing for Eastern Province against Border.
  • South Africa A are the only side to concede two double tons. In 2013, Shikhar Dhawan smashed 248 against them. That also came in a multilateral event, with Australia A being participants.
  • Since Tendulkar’s double, five more men have emulated the feat, four of those have come since 2013.
Batsman Score For Against Year
Alistair Brown 268 Surrey Glamorgan 2002
Shikhar Dhawan 248 India A South Africa A 2013
Graeme Pollock 222* Eastern Province Border 1974
Jamie How 222 Central Districts Northern Districts 2013
Virender Sehwag** 219 India West Indies 2011
Rohit Sharma** 209 India Australia 2013
Mohammad Ali 207 Pakistan Customs Defence Housing Authority 2005
Alvin Kallicharran 206 Warwickshire Oxfordshire 1984
Khalid Latif 204* Karachi Dolphins Quetta Bears 2009
Alistair Brown 203 Surrey Hampshire 1997
Alan Barrow 202* Natal African XI 1975
Phil Hughes 202* Australia A South Africa A 2014
Ravi Bopara 201* Essex Leicestershire 2008
Vince Wells 201 Liecestershire Berkshire 1996
Sachin Tendulkar** 200* India South Africa 2010

**In One-Day Internationals (ODIs)

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 20, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Kolkata

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Dubai

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (19:00 IST)   at Cuttack

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 24, 2014 (03:00 IST)   at Mount Maunganui

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Dhaka


South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 21, 2014  at Mount Maunganui

South Africa won by 6 wkts

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 17, 2014  at Dharamsala

India won by 59 runs

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 14, 2014  at Visakhapatnam

Match cancelled

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 12, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Australia won by 1 run

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 11, 2014  at Delhi

India won by 48 runs


India vs West Indies 4th ODI at Dharamsala


AB de Villiers speaks ahead of New Zealand ODIs

South Africa vs New Zealand 2014: 5 memorable matches

Yasir Shah: The new spinning sensation for Pakistan

Virat Kohli takes wicket with the first (0th?) ball of his T20I career

Kevin Pietersen’s autobiography — a litany of complaints with a few redeeming patches

Banning West Indian players in IPL can affect the ‘Brand value’ of the event – Will BCCI take this gamble?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 India India vs West Indies India vs West Indies 2014 New Zealand Pakistan Salaam Cricket South Africa West Indies West Indies cancel India tour 2014 West Indies tour of India 2014 West Indies vs India West Indies vs India 2014

Duleep Trophy 2014 Semifinal, East Zone vs South Zone: Laxmi Ratan Shukla feels Lahli pitch will suit East Zone pacers

Harbhajan Singh to miss Duleep semi-final against Central Zone,Gautam Gambhir to captain North Zone

Duleep Trophy semi-final: Upbeat East Zone take on South Zone

Pakistan vs Australia 1st Test in Dubai Preview: Motivated Pakistan look to hurt rusty Australia

Pakistan vs Australia 2014, 1st Test: Michael Clarke, Misbah-ul-Haq ready for spin challenge

Pakistan’s chances in ICC World Cup 2015 bleak: Mohammad Zahid

Quinton de Kock equals wicketkeeping record with six catches in South Africa vs New Zealand 1st ODI

MS Dhoni rested, Virat Kohli as captain, and other points of interest from squad for first 3 India vs Sri Lanka ODIs

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: MS Dhoni gets much-needed break ahead of Australia tour

Virat Kohli becomes fastest to 20 ODI hundreds

Fan of the Day

Gautam Singh

Gautam Singh

474 Posts | 5 Fans

Video Highlights Mohammed Yousuf drops catch after watching a girl in bikini

अभिनेत्री हुमा कुरैशी ओरिफ्लेम की ब्रांड एंबेसडर

Has Bigg Boss 8 made Karishma Tanna the most hated person?

Pranab Mukherjee returns home after visit to Norway, Finland

Revealed: First look of Amitabh Bachchan-Farhan Akhtar’s Do!

7 reasons why having sex during pregnancy is great for your health

Videocon Infinium Graphite with gesture control feature launched, priced at Rs 10,499

Rupee up 19 paise against dollar in early trade

Twitter introduces Audio Cards to listen to music directly from your timeline

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here