Pant off

Rishabh Pant displayed his stellar show, as he starred in Reliance 1′s crushing 10-wicket win over Canara Bank in the 13th DY Patil T20 Cup.

Pant, who has been named in India’s T20I squad to play England, launched a breathtaking assault on Canara Bank’s modest total of 120-7 at the DY Patil Stadium. Pant scored an unbeaten 84 off just 34 balls with nine boundaries and six sixes. Pant shared an unbroken 123-run stand with Jitesh Sharma (35) as Canara Bank bowlers looked clueless. Pant’s show ensured Reliance 1 overhauled the target in just 10.2 overs.

The other match in the morning saw Tata Sports Club beat RBI Sports Club by 38 runs at the University Ground. In the afternoon DY Patil ‘B’ beat Western Railways by seven wickets at the Stadium, while BPCL got the better of Jain Irrigation by 28 runs at the University Ground.

Tomorrow is the final day for all the league matches. India’s Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara will be in action for Indian Oil against DY Patil ‘A’.


At DY Patil Stadium: Group B: Canara Bank 120-7 in 20 overs (KB Pawan 55, Suchit Jagdish 29 n.o.; Baba Pathan 3-22, Nathu Singh 2-28) lost to Reliance 1 123-0 in 10.2 overs (Rishabh Pant 84 n.o., Jitesh Sharma 35 n.o.)-by 10 wickets

At University Ground: Group B: Tata Sports Club 189-7 in 20 overs (Ian Dev Chouhan 95 n.o.; Ali Murtaza 3-30) bt RBI Sports Club 151 in 19.4 overs (Kuldip Hudda 40; Aditya Dhumal 3-24, Sujit Nayak 2-26)-by 38 runs

At DY Patil Stadium: Group A: Western Railways 141-9 in 20 overs (Vinayak Bhoir 46, Samarth Vyas 30; Vinit Sinha 4-22, Siddharth Chitnis 2-27) lost to DY Patil ‘B’ 147-3 in 14.3 overs (Shashank Singh 70, Kevin Almeida 47; Hardik Rathod 2-24)-by seven wickets

At University Ground: Group A: BPCL 166-6 in 20 overs (KS Bharat 83; Anant Tambvekar 4-20) bt Jain Irrigation 138 in 18.2 overs (Sanjay Mishra 62, Urvesh Patel 30; Rishi Arothe 4-14)-by 28 runs

Fixtures for 11 January
10 am
At University Ground: Group C: CAG v Mumbai Police
At DY Patil Stadium: Group C: ONGC v State Bank of Travancore

2 pm
At University Ground: Group D: Air India v Mumbai Customs
At DY Patil Stadium: DY Patil ‘A’ v Indian Oil