Ranji Trophy 2012: Andhra Pradesh earn bonus point after victory by innings against J & K

Andhra Pradesh earned a vital bonus point against Jammu & Kashmir © AFP

Jammu: Nov 26, 2012

Andhra Pradesh produced an all-round show to humiliate Jammu and Kashmir by an innings and 15 runs on the third and penultimate day of their Ranji Trophy Group C match at Jammu on Monday.

After bundling out Jammu and Kashmir for 153 runs in their first innings, Andhra Pradesh rode on A G Pradeep’s 136-run knock to post 390, a vital first innings lead of 237 runs.

Apart from Pradeep, who struck 17 fours and a six during his 248-ball innings, veteran Amol Mazumdar (60), Syed Sahabuddin (55) and Rajesh Pawar (52) also made useful contributions with the bat.

With a healthy first innings lead at hand, Paidikalva Vijaykumar (3/33), Tekkami Atchuta Rao (3/40) and off-spinner Shaik Mahaboob Basha (3/79) shared nine wickets between them to bowl out Andhra Pradesh for 222 in their second innings, 15 runs short of the visitor’s first innings score.

Ian Dev Singh top-scored for Jammu and Kashmir in their second essay with a 65-run knock that came off 136 deliveries and was studded with 12 boundaries.

By virtue of the emphatic victory, Andhra Pradesh took home seven crucial points, including a bonus point, from the encounter.

Brief Scores: Jammu and Kashmir: 153 & 222 (Ian Dev Singh 65, Ram Eayal 47; Paidikalva Vijaykumar 3/33) lost to Andhra Pradesh: 390 (A G Pradeep 136, Amol Mazumdar 60; Ram Dayal 5/63) by an innings and 15 runs.