Home > News >

Ranji Trophy 2012: Manoj Tiwary’s century takes Bengal to commanding position against Gujarat

Ranji Trophy 2012: Manoj Tiwary s century takes Bengal to commanding position against Gujarat

Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary struck an unbeaten 102 against Gujarat on Sunday © PTI

Kolkata: Nov 18, 2012


Bengal skipper Manoj Tiwary scored the 17th first-class century of his career as home team reached 220 for four in reply to Gujarat’s first innings score of 260 in a third round Ranji Trophy encounter at the Eden Gardens.


Courtesy Tiwary’s unbeaten 102 and a fine 75 from veteran Subhamoy Das, Bengal are now just 41 runs shy off getting the first innings lead.


The Tiwary-Subhamoy combination added 101 runs for the third wicket after Bengal lost their openers Partha Sarathi Bhattacharjee and Sreevats Goswami for scores of 3 and 2 respectively.


While Tiwary showed a lot of grit and patience during his 179-ball knock which had 13 boundaries, Subhamoy played an attacking innings during his 88-ball stay at the crease hitting 13 fours and a six. This was his second significant knock after scoring 95 in the first match against Rajasthan.


“There are a few cracks on the surface which are opening up. The spinners might come in very handy and we are looking at a lead around 200 to 250. I think Gujarat will face a lot of difficulty batting third on this track,” skipper Tiwary said.


About his superb conversion rate having reached three-figure mark 17 times out of the 29 times that he had reached the score of 50.


“I was very annoyed with myself when I missed out on a century against England and threw it away against Rajasthan after getting 40 odd. I didn’t want that to happen on Sunday and I hope to get an even bigger one tomorrow,” a confident skipper said.


In the morning, Bengal’s pace trio of Ashok Dinda (3/73), Sourav Sarkar (4/60) and Shami Ahmed (2/59) polished off the remaining four GUjarat wickets for the addition of only 30 runs. Manpreet Juneja (48) and Rakesh Dhruv (41) were out quickly which set the tone for the day.


Brief Scores: Gujarat 260 (Smit Patel 67, Parthiv Patel 61, Sourav Sarkar 4 for 60, Ashoke Dinda 3 for 73, Shami Ahmed 2 for 59) lead Bengal 220 for 4 (Manoj Tiwary 102*, Subhamoy Das 75, Rush Kalaria 3 for 58) by 40 runs


West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 20, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Kolkata

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Dubai

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (19:00 IST)   at Cuttack

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 24, 2014 (03:00 IST)   at Mount Maunganui

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Dhaka


South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 21, 2014  at Mount Maunganui

South Africa won by 6 wkts

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 17, 2014  at Dharamsala

India won by 59 runs

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 14, 2014  at Visakhapatnam

Match cancelled

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 12, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Australia won by 1 run

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 11, 2014  at Delhi

India won by 48 runs


India vs West Indies 4th ODI at Dharamsala


AB de Villiers speaks ahead of New Zealand ODIs

South Africa vs New Zealand 2014: 5 memorable matches

Yasir Shah: The new spinning sensation for Pakistan

Virat Kohli takes wicket with the first (0th?) ball of his T20I career

Kevin Pietersen’s autobiography — a litany of complaints with a few redeeming patches

Banning West Indian players in IPL can affect the ‘Brand value’ of the event – Will BCCI take this gamble?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 India India vs West Indies India vs West Indies 2014 New Zealand Pakistan Salaam Cricket South Africa Sri Lanka West Indies West Indies cancel India tour 2014 West Indies tour of India 2014 West Indies vs India West Indies vs India 2014

West Indies players allowed to play IPL

ICC World Cup 2015: Hagely Oval gets ICC accreditation

Rohit Sharma to make comeback, Manoj Tiwary to lead in practice match against Sri Lanka

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Venues for 5 ODIs announced

MS Dhoni rested, Virat Kohli to lead in first 3 India vs Sri Lanka ODIs

MS Dhoni rested, Virat Kohli as captain, and other points of interest from squad for first 3 India vs Sri Lanka ODIs

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: MS Dhoni gets much-needed break ahead of Australia tour

Virat Kohli becomes fastest to 20 ODI hundreds

A Pakistan all-time XI: A galaxy of captains

James Neesham can provide more impetus to New Zealand’s weakened batting up the order

Fan of the Day

Gautam Singh

Gautam Singh

474 Posts | 5 Fans

Video Highlights Mohammed Yousuf drops catch after watching a girl in bikini

Sonakshi Sinha turns producer!

Apple iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus zero-interest EMI options won’t be available in India: Report

Vijay assures smooth release of Kaththi!

गर्भवती महिलायें दिवाली में रहें सावधान

Mayawati: Bharatiya Janata Party’s victory in polls not a verdict for Union government

iFixit cracks open the new Mac mini, finds soldered RAM inside

हड्डियों पर फ्लोराइड के हानिकारक दुष्प्रभाव

BCCI to move court against WICB, suspends bilateral tours

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here