Ranji Trophy 2012: Tripura thrash Himachal Pradesh by 109 runs

Despite an unbeaten century from Paras Dogra, Himachal Pradesh suffered a huge 109-run loss © Getty Images

Nadaun: Dec 4, 2012

In a rare achievement, Tripura on Tuesday, recorded only their seventh outright victory in the Ranji Trophy when they comfortably defeated Himachal Pradesh by 109 runs in their Group C match at Nadaun.

Tripura’s first outing in the Ranji Trophy had come way back in 1985.Chasing 359 runs for an unlikely victory on the fourth and final day, Himachal Pradesh were all out for 189 in their second innings at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium.

Tripura, who were 116 for five overnight, could manage just 177 in their second essay largely due to Vikramjeet Malik, who returned impressive figures of 5 for 36.

Debutant Sanjay Majumdar and his medium pace colleague Rana Dutta were the most successful bowlers for the visitors, finishing with figures of 3 for 64 and 3 for 53.

For the hosts, Paras Dogra deserved mention as he cracked an unbeaten century even as the others crumbled.

Dogra, who hit 19 fours, remained not out on 106 off 172 balls after last man, Mohinderraj Sharma was trapped in front of the wicket by S Abbas Ali, who also struck 68 in the second innings. Manisankar Murasingh contributed 63.

Tripura got six points for the win and there was nothing in store for Himachal Pradesh.

Brief scores: Tripura 441 and 177 (S Abbas Ali 68, Manisankar Murasingh 63; Vikramjeet Malik 5 for 36, Rahul Singh 3 for 51) beat Himachal Pradesh 260 and 189 (Paras Dogra 105*; Sanjay Majumdar 3 for 64, Rana Dutta 3 for 53) by 109 runs