Ganesh Satish fell after scoring 117 © PTI
Ganesh Satish fell after scoring 117 © PTI


Hyderabad: Jan 31, 2014


Karnataka have taken the lead in their Ranji Trophy 2013-14 final against Maharashtra at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. On Day Two, Karnataka sparked a collapse that saw Maharashtra put up only 305. In reply, KL Rahul and Ganesh Sathish’s tons have led the way and they have lost only one wicket so far.


Maharashtra have put down quite a few chances. They had as many as six catches come their way, but couldn’t hold on. On Day Three, they dropped one catch as Robin Uthappa edged one through the slips and Kedar Jadhav did not move as it went past him.


After Ganesh was dismissed in the very first over, Uthappa and Rahul have gone on to pile the misery for Maharashtra. They have attacked the spinners and also gone for their shots against the seamers once the new ball was taken.


Brief scores:


Maharashtra 305 trail Karnataka 306 for 1 (Robin Uthappa 51*, KL Rahul 126*, Ganesh Sathish 117; Chirag Khurana 1 for 57) by 1 run.