Pictures © Getty Images
Pictures © Getty Images



By CricketCountry Staff


Mumbai, February 4, 2011


Former Indian Captains Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Kapil Dev are among the nine cricketers to be honoured with the’ CEAT Cricket Ratings World Cup Awards 2011′ for out-standing performances in every World Cup from 1975 onwards.


The ceremony was held at Mumbai’s Taj Mahal Palace where Kapil Dev received the award for the 1983 World Cup, Rahul Dravid for 1999 and Sourav Ganguly for 2003 World Cup in South Africa.


Former Indian Captain Sunil Gavaskar spoke on the occasion, “The World Cup is probably one of the most important event in a cricketer’s career and to perform consistently well in a World Cup is a dream for every cricketer.”


“The winners of all the individual awards have done just that, fulfilling their individual dreams and those who have helped their team in winning the World Cup have double the reason to be proud of themselves.”


“It is wonderful to see CEAT coming up with awards to recognize these special efforts of the individuals,” he added.


Glen Turner for the 1975 World Cup, Gordon Greenidge for the 1979 event, Geoffrey Marsh for the 1987 event, Aravinda De Silva for 1996 and Matthew Hayden for 2007 World Cup in the Caribbean Islands were also felicitated as best World Cup cricketers.


Australia was adjudged ‘CEAT international Cricket Team of the Year’ for 2009-10 and Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was awarded the ‘CEAT International Cricketer of the Year’ for the same period.