Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here

Home > News >

Sri Lanka thrash South Africa by 180 runs in 1st ODI

Sri Lanka thrash South Africa by 180 runs in 1st ODI

Sri Lanka took a 1-0 lead in the five-match ODI series with a comprehensive victory over South Africa © AFP

Jul 20, 2013

Sri Lanka handed South Africa an embarrassing 180-run defeat in the first One-Day International (ODI) in Colombo on Saturday. Chasing Sri Lanka’s 320 for five, the Proteas were bowled out for 140 in 31.5 overs at the R Premadasa.

The South Africans were blown away by a masterclass innings from Kumar Sangakkara (169 from 137 balls) and were never really in the running during their chase. They kept losing wickets at regular intervals and Sri Lanka took a 1-0 lead in the five-match ODI series.

Already chasing a an imposing 321-run target on a wicket that gives the bowlers some assistance, the South African chase began to the worst possible start as Colin Ingram was bowled by Lasith Malinga in the very first ball of the innings. It was all downhill from there.

Next to go was JP Duminy in the sixth over. Shaminda Eranga’s good length ball moved away from the left-handed Duminy and got the edge off his bat. The ball nearly fell to the floor, but Sangakkara dived forward to take the catch. The umpires asked for TV replays to check whether the wicketkeeper had taken the catch cleanly, but it was Sangakkara’s day and no one could deny him the catch.

Then captain AB de Villiers joined Alviro Petersen in the middle. The pair batted positively and looked like they would build a good platform. Sensing the mood stand-in captain Dinesh Chandimal brought in Rangana Herath. The left-arm spinner dismissed de Villiers in the third delivery of his very first over. The Proteas captain looked to play inside out to a turning delivery, but missed and the ball hit the top of off-stump.

Thisara Perera then put South Africa in more trouble as sent Petersen back into the dressing room. The batsman nicked an away moving short of a length delivery to Sangakkara behind the wickets. South Africa then lost their fifth wicket as their score was only 82 in the 17th over. Faf du Plessis drove on the up at a full and wide delivery outside off-stump, but failed to keep it down as Chandimal took a low catch at short cover.

David Miller and Robin Peterson added 21 runs for the sixth wicket. Tillakaratne Dilshan then accounted for Miller’s wicket as he chopped on a straight ball onto the stumps. From then on it was a procession as Sri Lanka picked up the last four wickets for under 40 runs to bring an end to South Africa’s misery.

The last wicket was of Aaron Phangiso’s. He stepped out of his crease to a flighted delivery by Herath and missed. Sangakkara finished the match as he coolly dislodged the bails to stump him out. Herath and Perera finished with three wickets apiece.

It was a comprehensive victory for Sri Lanka and South Africa’s second biggest ODI defeat by margin of runs.

Earlier, Sri Lanka posted a total of 320 for five in 50 overs thanks mainly due to Sangakkara’s personal best ODI score. His 16th ODI century was laced with 18 fours and six maximums. He began moderately, but scored freely as the innings progressed.

Sangakkara shared a 123-run partnership with Lahiru Thirimanne for the fourth wicket, scoring 100 runs himself. Sangakkara’s score was the second-highest individual score against South Africa in ODIs after Sachin Tendulkar’s 200 not out.

It was also the third highest ODI score by any Sri Lankan batsmen after Sanath Jayasuriya’s 189 and Tharanga’s unbeaten 174. Both these came against India.

The second ODI is also at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on July 23. Chandimal is due to lead the side out again as regular captain Angelo Mathews is suspended for one more ODI.

Brief scores:

Sri Lanka 320 for 5 in 50 overs (Kumar Sangakkara 169, Upul Tharanga 43, Mahela Jayawardene 42; Morne Morkel 2 for 34) beat South Africa 140 in 31.5 overs (Alviro Petersen 29, Robin Peterson 29; Rangana Herath 3 for 25, Thisara Perera 3 for 31, Tillakaratne Dilshan 2 for 11) by 180 runs.

Man of the Match: Kumar Sangakkara

Full Scorecard

Photo Gallery

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 23, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Dubai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 24, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Sharjah

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 25, 2014 (16:00 IST)   at Dubai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 25, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Dubai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 26, 2014 (16:00 IST)   at Abu Dhabi


Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 22, 2014  at Sharjah

Kings XI Punjab won by 72 runs

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 21, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Chennai Super Kings won by 93 runs

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 20, 2014  at Sharjah

Kings XI Punjab won by 7 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 19, 2014  at Dubai

Delhi Daredevils won by 4 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 19, 2014  at Dubai

Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 7 wkts


CSK vs DD, IPL 2014 Match 8 at Abu Dhabi


IPL: Tanmay Mishra talks shows the contents of his kit

IPL 2009: Yusuf Pathan leads Rajasthan Royals to memorable win over Kolkata Knight Riders in Super Over

Who else but Shakespeare on the World Book and Copyright Day?

IPL 2013: Shane Watson’s scintillating century against Chennai Super Kings goes in vain

John Small — The first man to use a straight bat

IPL 2014: Dwayne Bravo’s absence a major blow for Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings Delhi Daredevils Glenn Maxwell India IPL IPL 7 IPL 2014 Kings XI Punjab KXIP vs SRH KXIP vs SRH 2014 Mumbai Indians Rajasthan Royals Royal Challengers Bangalore RR vs KXIP 2014 Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sachin Tendulkar greater than Don Bradman, claims new book titled ‘Greater Than Bradman’

Lasith Malinga named Sri Lanka T20 captain, Lahiru Thirimanne vice captain in all formats

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2014, Match 11 Preview: RCB look to maintain winning momentum

Peter Moores — Most unsuccessful England coach of modern times: Report

IPL 7: Chris Gayle returns as upbeat Royal Challengers Bangalore face off against Kolkata Knight Riders

Meg Lanning, Arran Brindle and other women cricketers who have led at a younger age than ther male counterparts

IPL 2013: Chris Gayle’s monumental 175 against Pune Warriors India

Aditya Verma waging war against BCCI for future of Bihar cricket

IPL 2014: Sunrisers Hyderabad need to have a relook at their top-heavy batting line-up

Hasan Raza: The youngest Test debutant

Fan of the Day

Suraj Gowda

Suraj Gowda

622 Posts | 7 Fans

Video Highlights: Virat Kohli's 77 during India vs Sri Lanka ICC World T20 2014 final at Dhaka

Top 10 rock songs to take your workout to the next level

Top 6 natural remedies to keep your liver healthy

Janaki Vishwanathan: Yeh Hai Bakrapur has been getting widespread appreciation even before its release

DGCA allows in-flight use of mobiles, laptops on flight mode

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2014, Match 11 Preview: RCB look to maintain winning momentum

India Elections 2014: How does an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) work?

An astonishing list of women cricketers who captained at a younger age than their male counterparts

Kajol: A visual delight as a pin-up girl!

Also on