Dilruwan Perera, Shaminda Eranga, Suranga Lakmal will form Sri Lanka's pace attack © AFP
Dilruwan Perera, Shaminda Eranga, Suranga Lakmal will form Sri Lanka’s pace attack © AFP


Jan 27, 2014


Sri Lankan skipper Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bowl in the first Test against Bangladesh at Dhaka on Monday. The Lankans will be anxious to seal the series after a disappointing end to the well-fought Test series against Pakistan earlier this month. They are scheduled to play two Tests against Bangladesh with the other to be being hosted at Chittagong. Batsman Shamsur Rahman will make his debut for Bangladesh.


All-rounder Shakib-Al Hasan, who leads Bangladesh’s spin attack, hopes sporting wickets that favour both batsmen and bowlers will be prepared for the series. “The contest is between two Asian teams so a spin-friendly pitch may not help much,” Shakib said. “We now have the experience to play good cricket against any team.”


The tourists have defeated Bangladesh in 13 of their 14 Tests, seven of them by an innings margin. On their previous tour in 2008-09, Sri Lanka won the first Test by 107 runs and the second by 465 runs. But the Sri Lankan skipper refused to take victory for granted. “We may have won in the past, but we still need to go hard at them,” Mathews told reporters ahead of the first Test at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka.


“Bangladesh will always be tough to beat at home. They have improved a lot in recent years. We need to play good cricket to win. We are certainly not going to take them lightly.




Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Shamsur Rahman, Marshall Ayub, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (c&wk), Shakib-Al-Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Robiul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Al Amin Hossain


Sri Lanka: Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (c), Kithuruwan Vithanage, Dilruwan Perera, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal


Catch Live score and ball-by-ball commentary of Day 1 on the match here