Home > News >

Taskin Ahmed floors India with five-for on ODI debut for Bangladesh

Taskin Yadav  © AFP
Taskin Ahmed © AFP

Jun 17, 2014

Bangladesh pacer Taskin Ahmed on Tuesday became the eighth bowler in the history of One-Day Internationals (ODIs) to take five wickets or more on debut, during the second ODI against India at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Taskin ran through the Indian top-order as he produced an emphatic spell of 8-0-28-5 in a rain-truncated match that saw India collapsing like heap of cards. The right-arm pacer claimed the wickets of Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Cheteshwar Pujara, Amit Mishra and Stuart Binny to achieve the feat.

Taskin was very impressive on his debut as he consistently clocked over 140 kmph, and troubled the Indian batsmen on a consistent basis during the second ODI. Taskin’s performance put Bangladesh on the verge of series-levelling win as India won the first ODI by a margin of seven wickets through the Duckworth-Lewis method.

India were reeling at 94 for five after 24 overs. Earlier, the rain interruption in the match meant the game was reduced to 41-overs-a-side affair.

Points to note:

- Taskin Ahmed is the eight bowler in ODI history to bag a five-for on debut.

- Among the eight five-fors on ODI debut three have come from low-ranked nations — Austin Codrington (Canada), Brian Vitori (Zimbabwe), Taskin Ahmed (Bangladesh).

- Taskin Ahmed is the first Bangladesh bowler to pick a five-for on ODI debut.

- Taskin Ahmed has registered the best bowling figures by a Bangladesh bowler on ODI debut eclipsing Sohag Gazi’s  four for 29 against West Indies in 2012.

- This is India’s lowest score against Bangladesh in ODIs. The previous lowest was 191 in the 2007 World Cup

Let’s take a look at the list of most impressive figures on ODI debut:

Bowler For  W Against Venue
Fidel Edwards West Indies 6 for 22 Zimbabwe Harare Sports Club
Anthony Dodemaide Australia 5 for 21 Sri Lanka WACA
Shaul Karnain Sri Lanka 5 for 26 New Zealand Tyronne Fernando Stadium
Austin Codrington Canada 5 for 27 Bangladesh Kingsmead
Allan Donald South Africa 5 for 29 India Eden Gardens
Brian Vitori Zimbabwe 5 for 30 Bangladesh Harare Sports Club
Thudellage Fernando Sri Lanka 5 for 67 Zimbabwe Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Taskin Ahmed Bangladesh 5 for 28 India Shere Bangla Stadium

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 30, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 2, 2014 (13:30 IST)   at Cuttack

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 3, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Khulna

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 5, 2014 (14:05 IST)   at Adelaide

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 6, 2014 (13:30 IST)   at Ahmedabad


West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 15, 2014  at Ahmedabad

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 7, 2014  at Bengaluru

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 30, 2014  at Hyderabad

Match cancelled

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 27, 2014  at Hamilton

No result

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014  at Dhaka

Bangladesh won by 3 wkts


Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test


Tendulkar provides teaser on upcoming book

Live Cricket Score Duleep Trophy Central Zone vs South Zone, final at Delhi Day 4: Murtaza dismissed by Mithun after completing half-century

Live Cricket Score: Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test, Day 3 at Abu Dhabi

Don Bradman dismissed twice on the same day

Rohit Sharma looks to strengthen career after an inconsistent year

Yuvraj Singh — have we seen the last of the man who won India three World Cups?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 Australia vs Pakistan Australia vs Pakistan 2014 Central Zone Duleep Trophy Duleep Trophy 2014-15 India Pakistan Pakistan vs Australia Pakistan vs Australia 2014 South Zone South Zone vs Central Zone Sri Lanka Sri Lanka tour of India 2014

Duleep Trophy 2014-15 final: Central Zone reach 344/7 at Lunch; Robin Bist unbeaten on 87

Financial options to make West Indies’ Down Under tour possible

Duleep Trophy 2014-15 final: Robin Bist completes half-century

BCCI may file $42 million lawsuit against WICB for India tour pullout

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Muttiah Muralitharan insists Virat Kohli a huge asset for India

Don Bradman dismissed twice on the same day

Virat Kohli’s captaincy opportunities important in context of India’s succession plans

Rohit Sharma looks to strengthen career after an inconsistent year

Younis Khan equals Javed Miandad’s record of most 150+ scores by Pakistan batsman

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Manish Pandey showing signs of fulfilling potential

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

678 Posts | 6 Fans

Video Highlights: Younis Khan century during Pakistan vs Australia 1st Test at Dubai

India A vs Sri Lanka: Fringe players look to impress

NGOs pursue education for all

Dance Basanti from Ungli: Put on your dancing shoes and practice the Basanti move!

Weight Loss Tip #59: Eat oranges to lose weight

Sensex surges 150 points in early trade to regain 27,000-mark

PricewaterhouseCoopers partners Google to offer business solutions to clients

Google X Lab working on nanoparticles to help detect diseases early

Priyanka Chopra has the best no make-up selfie on Instagram, think fans!

Lisa Haydon: I slept off midway while watching the original Shaukeen!

International programme in Animal Husbandry

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here