Najam Sethi (left) and Zaka Ashraf © AFP & Getty Images
Najam Sethi (left) and Zaka Ashraf © AFP & Getty Images



Islamabad: Jul 10, 2014


The extraordinary game of musical chairs at the head of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) took a fresh turn on Thursday with the replacement of the sitting chief with a retired judge.


Here is a timeline of the 15 months of changes that have left the PCB in turmoil.


May 8, 2013 — Zaka Ashraf elected as PCB chairman. In keeping with traditional practice in Pakistan, Ashraf was originally appointed by then-president Asif Ali Zardari but reforms demanded by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the game’s governing body, meant he had to undergo election.


May 28 — The Islamabad High Court suspends Ashraf, saying the election to choose him were “dubious” and a fresh one should be held.


June 23 — Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif appoints veteran journalist Najam Sethi as the PCB’s interim chairman, a month after coming to power in general elections.


October 15 — Sharif takes over as PCB patron following an amendment in the national constitution which gave powers to the PM, and appoints a PCB management committee with Sethi as chairman.


January 15, 2014 — A court appeal bench restores Ashraf as PCB chairman.


February 10 — Sharif once again sacks Ashraf, appoints Sethi as PCB’s committee chief.


May 17 — Islamabad high court appeal bench restores Ashraf again.


May 21 — The Supreme Court gives a stay order suspending the high court’s restoration of Ashraf, bringing Sethi back as PCB chief.


July 10 – Sharif appoints former judge Jamshed Ali Shah as interim PCB chief to hold elections for a permanent chairman within 30 days. Sethi removed again as a result.