Murali Vijay's 69 set the stage for Kings'  chase © AFP
Murali Vijay’s 69 set the stage for Kings’ chase © AFP

Baba Aparajith’s 60-run knock went in vain as Lyca Kovai Kings chased down 197 courtesy Murali Vijay‘s brilliance for VB Thiruvallur Veerans to post a 7-wicket victory in Match No. 26 of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2017. On Saturday, the Kings won the toss at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai and sent the Veerans to bat first. While the Veerans’ batsmen, led by captain Aparajith put up a brilliant show, the bowlers failed to defend the huge score. Despite the victory, the Kings are at No. 5 position in the TNPL 2017, one place behind the Veerans. Veerans now have three victories from the seven matches that they have played while it was only the second victory for the Kings. Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2017: Points table and team standings

Though the Veerans openers NS Chaturved (24) and S Siddharth (18) failed to pull off anything extraordinary, the team was off to a decent start which Aparajith converted into a gigantic total. He first paired up with Hari Nishanth (27) to build the first big partnership of the innings, then getting to his half-century. Major support, though, came from Abhishek Tanwar who remained unbeaten at 55 as the Veerans put up 196 for 6 at the end of their 20 overs. Krishnamoorthy Vignesh, Ajith Ram and MMK Shivakumar were the pick of the bowlers as all bagged 2 wickets each bowling for the Kings but their spells remained expensive, courtesy the ruthless hitting of Aparajith and Tanwar. Coincidentally, both the batsmen hit 3 fours and 5 sixes each in their respective knocks.

The chase was thrilling. The match went down till the final delivery of the match. Despite losing his opening partner Laxmesha Suryaprakash (5) in the third over of the chase, Kings’ skipper Murali Vijay did not lose his nerves and paired up with Anirudh Sita Ram to keep the team in the hunt. Vijay got out for 69 off 44, hitting 5 fours and 4 sixes. Ram was joined at the crease by Akshay Srinivasan and both took things further until Tanwar removed Srinivasan (38) in the final over. Ram remained unbeaten at 69 as he ran a couple of runs to take his side to victory. Lakshmi Narayan, Sanjay Yadav and Tanwar were the successful bowlers with wickets apiece. Ram was adjudged the Player of the Match.

Brief scores:

VB Thiruvallur Veerans 196 for 6 (Baba Aparajith 60, Hari Nishanth 27, Abhishek Tanwar 55*; Krishnamoorthy Vignesh 2 for 29, Ajith Ram 2 for 33) lost to Lyca Kovai Kings 197 for 3 (Murali Vijay 69, Anirudh Sita Ram 69*, Akshay Srinivasan 38; Sanjay Yadav 1 for 23, Abhishek Tanwar 1 for 44) by 7 wickets.