Vinay Kumar to lead Karnataka in South Zone T20 championship

Vinay Kumar (above) will have the assistance of Stuart Binny who is named the vice-captain of Karnataka © AFP

Bangalore: Mar 9, 2013

Paceman R Vinay Kumar was on Saturday named captain of the Karnataka side for the South Zone Twenty20 competition for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, to be played at Shimoga from March 17-22.

Stuart Binny was named vice-captain of the 15-member squad which also includes Kunal Kapoor, K Gowtham and Ronit More.

The Karnataka Squad: Vinay Kumar (C), Stuart Binny (Vice Captain), Robin Uthappa, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, CM Gautam (wicket-keeper), Karun Nair, Abhimanyu Mithun, KP Appanna, HS Sharath, K Gowtham, Kunal Kapoor, Ronit More and Amit Verma.

Support staff: J Arunkumar (Batting Coach), Mansur Ali Khan (Bowling Coach), Sharan (Physio), Vivek Ramakrishna (Trainer), Santosh (Video Analyst) and J Abhiram (Manager).