Home > News >

Websites barred from live commentary during ongoing India-New Zealand matches

India New Zealand series © Getty Images
India-New Zealand series is being exclusively covered by MSM Media’s TV entity, Sony Six © Getty Images

New Delhi: Jan 27, 2014 

The Delhi High Court on Monday said an interim injunction will stay for now against two cricket websites providing live updates and commentary of India‘s One-Day International (ODI) series against New Zealand, whose broadcasting rights are with Multi-Screen Media (MSM)—a Sony owned media company.

A bench of Justice G S Sistani passed the order after the websites M/s Akaute Internet Services Pvt Ltd and its portal Cricbuzz.com and ESPN Digital Media Pvt Ltd turned down a suggestion that they deposit Rs 10 lakh and apply for a licence to continue the business.

MSM has moved the High Court saying the websites are giving audio commentary, live updates and full text updates of the matches after which the court granted the injuction last week.

The company and the court asked the websites to apply for a licence and deposit Rs 10 lakh and in the meantime, continue the business and if the matter is finally decided in their favour, they can take the money.

To this, Akaute Internet Services said it cannot deposit “anything more than Rs 2 lakh as the business is not that viable”.

To this the court remarked, “If the business is not viable then why continue it.”

MSM said it has paid a large amount of money to get the rights and these websites are encashing on it without paying anything.

Appearing for MSM, senior advocate Abhishek Manu Sighvi said, “The websites are providing running commentary within seconds of a stroke being played. They are making money by engaging in something for which I have paid so much money, This is unjust enrichment.”

The India-New Zealand series began on January 19 and will continue till February 18th, and includes 5 ODI matches, and two Test matches.

The New Zealand Cricket Board had granted exclusive media rights including television, internet, mobile and data rights to MSM for the Indian sub-continent.

Two One Day Internationals (ODIs) and two Test matches remain in the series.


Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 30, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 2, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Cuttack

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 3, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Khulna

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 5, 2014 (14:05 IST)   at Adelaide

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 6, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Ahmedabad


West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 15, 2014  at Ahmedabad

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 7, 2014  at Bengaluru

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 30, 2014  at Hyderabad

Match cancelled

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 27, 2014  at Hamilton

No result

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014  at Dhaka

Bangladesh won by 3 wkts


Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test: Australia's practice session


Tendulkar provides teaser on upcoming book

Rohit Sharma gave a fantastic account of himself: Sanjay Bangar

Yuvraj Singh flays media for twisting statements on future in international cricket

India A beat Sri Lanka by 88 runs in tour match; Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Karn Sharma shine

Kevin Pietersen saga: Stuart Broad, James Anderson saddened by bullying claims

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Rohit Sharma or Ajinkya Rahane — who should open for India?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 Australia vs Pakistan Australia vs Pakistan 2014 Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe 2014 Central Zone Duleep Trophy Duleep Trophy 2014-15 India Pakistan Pakistan vs Australia Pakistan vs Australia 2014 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka tour of India 2014 Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh 2014

West Indies crisis: Trinidad and Tobago condemns West Indies’ pullout from India tour

MS Dhoni told me there’s nothing called ‘lucky’ or ‘unlucky’: Pankaj Singh

All-India PSU T20 Tournament: Oriental Insurance defeat HPCL

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in favour of Najam Sethi as ICC President

Justice Mudgal Committee report on IPL spot-fixing to be submitted on November 3

Highest identical scores in both innings of a Test

Younis Khan — perhaps Pakistan’s greatest batsman ever

India A vs Sri Lankans tour match: Players look to make the most of opportunities

Viv Richards: How did he perform against the West Indian quicks?

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Rohit Sharma or Ajinkya Rahane — who should open for India?

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

678 Posts | 6 Fans

Video Highlights: Younis Khan century during Pakistan vs Australia 1st Test at Dubai

How to sterilise your baby’s feeding bottle in 5 easy steps

International programme in Animal Husbandry

Penn Orji’s strike helps Kerala Blasters FC grab 2-1 comeback victory against FC Pune City 17th ISL 2014 match

Bangladesh Cricket Board XI in CAB S K Acharya Memorial Challenger Trophy final

Is Sonakshi Sinha ignoring her Action Jackson co-stars Yami Gautam and Manasvi Mamgain?

Diet Tip #38: Choose whole wheat flour over white flour

Itna Karo Na Mujhe Pyaar promo: Ronit Roy’s new show looks promising!

Xiaomi poaches Donovan Sung from Spotify to lead international product development: Report

Pankaj Singh hopes for good season with Rajasthan

Apple replaces user’s iPad for free after NASA rocket mishap

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here