Squads announced for Challenger Trophy; Yuvraj Singh to lead India Blue

Yuvraj Singh will be keen to make the opportunity count to stage a comeback into the Indian ODI team © Getty Images

Sep 10, 2013
Yuvraj Singh has been chosen to lead India Blue while all-rounder Irfan Pathan will captain the India Red team in the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy. The selectors chose the team on Tuesday at Vishakhapatnam.
The squads were announced by a press release posted on the official website of BCCI. The Challenger Trophy played between three teams — India Blue, India Red and India Green — will provide an opportunity to players like Yuvraj stage a comeback into the team. Yuvraj along with Zaheer focused on their fitness at a training program under the supervision of Tim Exeter in France.
The India Red squad lead by Irfan Pathan also features brother Yusuf. Saurabh Tiwary too gets a chance while young Smit Patel will handle the duties behind the stumps.
For India Blue, Abhishek Nayar who had a phenomenal season for Mumbai will be the key player. The team also features Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and R Vinay kumar in the bowling department.

India Red squad
Irfan Pathan  (c), Robin Uthappa, Abhinav Mukund, Saurabh Tiwary, Gurkeerat Mann, Kedar Jadhav, Smit Patel (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abhimanyu Mithun, Umesh Yadav, Suraj Yadav.
India Blue squad
Yuvraj Singh (c), Akshath Reddy, Naman Ojha (wk), Mandeep Singh, Ankit Bawane, Abhishek Nayar, Manish Pandey, Piyush Chawla, Ankit Rajpoot, Vinay Kumar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Iresh Saxena.