Zaheer Khan returns as India opt to field against Sri Lanka

MS Dhoni will be desperate for a win against Sri Lanka © Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff


Hobart: Feb 28, 2012


Zaheer Khan returned to the side as India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to field against Sri Lanka in their must-win match of the CB Series at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart.


Pushed to the very brink of elimination, a demoralised India face an ardous task of beating Sri Lanka with a bonus point to have any remote chance of qualifying to the final of the cricket tri-series when the two sides clash on Tuesday.


Barely left standing on their feet after a dismal show in the tournament, India would not only need a win with a bonus point to remain alive but also hope that Australia would somehow prevail over Lanka in the last league match on Melbourne on March 2.


The odds are heavily staked against the beleaguered Indians but teams have won with bonus points and India would hope that they do it tomorrow or leave Australian shores with humiliation after a Test series whitewash.




India: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav.


Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene (c), Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, KMDN Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath

Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the India-Sri Lanka ODI here