Zaheer Khan will spearhead Mumbai’s challenge in West Zone T20 league © Getty Images


Mumbai: Mar 28, 2014


Pacer Zaheer Khan, who is not part of the India One-Day International (ODI) or T20 squads, will lead Mumbai in the West Zone T20 League games to be played from March 30 to April 4.


Mumbai selectors also included two India under-19 cricketers Sarfaraz Khan and Shreyas Iyer in the squad, as well as leg spinner Pravin Tambe who plays for Rajasthan Royals (RR)in Indian Premier League (IPL).


Mumbai’s league games: Mar 30: v Baroda at Wankhede Stadium (D/n); Mar 31: v Gujarat at BKC ground (Day); Apr 2: v Saurashtra at BKC ground (Day); Apr 3: v Maharashtra at Wankhede Stadium (D/N).


The winners of the League progress to the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy All India knock out tournament to be held at Mumbai and Rajkot from April 8-13.


Mumbai T20 squad: Zaheer Khan (c), Abhishek Nayar, Suryakumar Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Iqbal Abdullah, Sushant Marathe, Aditya Tare, Shoaib Shaikh, Kevin Almeida, Sarfaraz Khan, Shreyas Iyer, Pravin Tambe, Saurabh Netravalkar, Prathamesh Dhake and Sujit Nayak.


Coach: Lalchand Rajput


Fielding Coach: Amit Dani.