Zaka Ashraf has ruled any possibility of him resigning before the completion of his term © AFP
Zaka Ashraf has ruled any possibility of him resigning before the completion of his term © AFP


Karachi: Jan 17, 2014


Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chief Zaka Ashraf has made it clear that he has no intentions of resigning and will try to complete his four-year term.


Ashraf, who resumed his duties at the PCB headquarters at Gaddafi stadium since Thursday, said he had no differences with the ruling government and there was no politics involved in his reinstatement.


“I fought a legal battle since my removal was illegal and my stance has been vindicated, there is no politics involved in this,” he told reporters in Lahore.


Ashraf was restored to his post by a two-member bench of the Islamabad High Court on Wednesday.


Since his reinstatement, speculations have been rife that Ashraf might resign since he is a Pakistan Peoples Party loyalist and he was appointed to the Chairman’s post by former President Asif Zardari while presently the Pakistan Muslim League (N) is in power, who appointed Najam Sethi in place of Ashraf.


“I haven’t met the PM, but I would like to brief him on the game,” said Ashraf.


“I cannot say anything about the future as no one can predict that, but for now the court has restored me as the elected chairman for four years in the light of the constitution,” he added.


He said his focus was now Pakistan’s preparations for the upcoming Asia Cup and the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh, and would be taking key decisions soon.


To a query regarding team captain Misbah-ul-Haq’s appointment till the ICC World Cup 2015, Ashraf subtly termed it a premature decision.


“Misbah is currently very fit, but he will undergo a fitness test before the tournament like every other player.


(Mohammad) Hafeez is also going good as the Twenty20 captain, but the player will also need to undergo a fitness test,” he said.


Ashraf also said the government would be consulted before taking a final decision on sending the team for the Asia Cup in Bangladesh.