Picture 2 of 6

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (right) receives the Polly Umrigar Trophy from Sanjay Patel for the Best India International cricketer © PTI

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday hosted the annual awards ceremony for 2013-14. Earlier during the week on Tuesday, the board had announced the full list of players who were nominated for the most important awards in various sections.

Former India skipper and national selector Dilip Vengsarkar won the Lifetime Achievement Award while Bhuvneshwar Kumar was chosen as the best Indian international cricketer. Kedar Jadhav and Rishi Dhawan will be recognised with Madhavrao Scindia award for being the highest run-scorer and wicket-taker respectively during the 2013-14 Ranji Trophy season. Jammu & Kashmir player, Parvez Rasool was declared as best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy and Karnataka’s R Vinay Kumar won the best all-rounder in domestic matches award.

There was also a special award for India’s opening batsman, Rohit Sharma for scoring the highest individual score of 264 in ODIs. Apart from him, Virat Kohli was also felicitated during the awards ceremony as team India left for the tour of Australia starting early next month.