Picture 1 of 5

Ian Bell won the England men's cricketer of the year award. He was the key player in England The Ashes 2013 win back home © Getty Images


The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) honoured four cricketers with the cricketers of the year award at Lord’s. Ian Bell and Charlotte Edwards let the awards with the men’s and women’s cricketers of the year awards respectively.


The awards recognise outstanding performances in all formats of international cricket over the past year beginning with last summer’s tour by New Zealand and encompassing the recent ICC World Twenty20 (T20) men’s and women’s tournaments in Bangladesh, as stated by ECB’s press release.


The press release states, “Ian Bell overcame competition from Stuart Broad and Joe Root to win the men’s award which was decided by votes from members of the cricket media. Bell’s award reflected his outstanding contribution to England’s Ashes victory last summer with the Warwickshire batsman making three centuries and two half centuries during the five-match Investec Test series.”


“England captain Charlotte Edwards’ consistent run-scoring and outstanding leadership skills in a year which saw England women win back-to-back Ashes series helped her win the women’s award. Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole and Sarah Taylor were the other nominees for this award,” the statement added.