Picture 1 of 63

The Indian players take the field at the start of the second Test against New Zealand on Day One at the Basin Reserve in Wellington on February 14, 2014 © Getty Images


India drew the second Test with New Zealand in Wellington on February 18, 2014. India were chasing an improbable 435-run target as New Zealand had declared their second innings at 680 for six. Virat Kohli was unbeaten on 105 and Rohit Sharma was on 31 as India finished at 166 for three. New Zealand have won the two-match Test series 1-0.


MS Dhoni had won the toss and elected to field first. New Zealand were bowled out for 192 with Kane Williamson top-scoring with 47. Ishant Sharma took six wickets for 51 runs. India then scored 438 before being bowled out. Ajinkya Rahane top-scored with 118 while Shikhar Dhawan scored 98. Dhoni scored 68 runs.


It is in New Zealand’s second innings that numerous records were broken. McCullum top-scored 301 while BJ Watling scored 124. Neesham scored an unbeaten 137 on debut. Zaheer Khan took five wickets for 170 runs.