Picture 1 of 21

Ajinkya Rahane (left) gets bowled by Angelo Mathews early in India's innings in the ICC World T20 2014 final against Sri Lanka. India got off to a slow start as Sri Lanka stuck to their plans © Getty Images


Sri Lanka won the ICC World T20 2014 title at Dhaka on April 6. They beat India by six wickets in the final. Sri Lanka chased down a 131-run target in 17.5 overs to lift their first World T20 crown. They had previously lost the 2009 and 2012 finals. Kumar Sangakkara scored an unbeaten 52 off 35 deliveries as Sri Lanka also won their first global event since the 1996 World Cup.


Earlier, India could only manage to post a modest 130 for four in their 20 overs after being sent into bat. Virat Kohli was the only batsman to get amongst the runs as he scored 77 of 58 deliveries. He struck five fours and four sixes in his innings. The Sri Lankan bowlers led by captain Lasith Malinga bowled to their plans and restricted India. In the end, they won the match comfortably.