IPL 9: Eight captains, one frame
Back row (from left): Zaheer Khan (Delhi Daredevils), Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians), Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) and David Miller (Kings XI Punjab). Middle row (from left): MS Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir and David Warner. Front row: Suresh Raina (Gujarat Lions)

It is that time of the year when trumpets will blow, sixes will be called ‘maximums’ and cricket will combine with glitz with national teammates pitted against each other and we will witness almost two months of gripping Twenty20 (T20) cricket. Indian Premier League’s (IPL) ninth season kicks off at Mumbai on Saturday.

There are a lot of new things to look forward to this IPL. With Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) banned for two years for their involvement in spot-fixing in 2013 edition, we have two new sides — Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions. While MS Dhoni will lead the Pune side, Suresh Raina will captain the Rajkot-based franchise. For the first time, we will Dhoni and Raina play in a side other than CSK.

Ahead of the opening ceremony on Friday, the Facebook account of Circle of Cricket shared a picture of all eight skippers of IPL.