Defending champions Mumbai Indians retained five players including their captain Rohit Sharma and West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard, for the upcoming seventh season of Indian Premier League. All the retentions by Mumbai were on expected lines.


Apart from skipper Rohit and Pollard, the three others retained are senior off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, Sri Lankan quick Lasith Malinga and talented batsman Ambati Rayudu, who can also double up as a wicketkeeper.


Australian speedster Mitchell Johnson will likely be favourite to be obtained through ‘Right to Match’ cards that the franchise can exercise during the two-day auction on February 12 and 13.


(With inputs from PTI)