Former Pakistani cricketers Mudassar Nazar (left) and Zaheer Abbas are the only batsmen in Test history to record 150-plus scores in three consecutive innings © Getty Images
Former Pakistani cricketers Mudassar Nazar (left) and Zaheer Abbas are the only batsmen in Test history to record 150-plus scores in three consecutive innings © Getty Images

A Test hundred is a feat that every batsman aspires for, the double-hundred being elusive to many. What about the much-ignored 150 though? Bharath Seervi lists down the batsmen who scored 150-plus in two or more consecutive innings in Test cricket.

Playing a long innings in two consecutive innings or more is not something that happens often in Test cricket. There was a time when Don Bradman and Wally Hammond were used to it. Since then, talking of scoring 150-plus in consecutive Test innings, the frequency has decreased. There have been some instances of the achievement of the feat, but it has hardly involved the same player.

There are only two occasions in Test history when a player scored 150 or more in three consecutive innings, both of which saw a Pakistani batsman achieve the feat. The batsmen in question — Zaheer Abbas and Mudassar Nazar —scored beyond 150 in three consecutive innings, all of them against India in the 1982-83 series.

150-plus in three consecutive innings

Batsman For Innings 1 Innings 2 Innings 3
Zaheer Abbas Pakistan 215 vs India, Lahore, 1982 186 vs India, Karachi, 1982 168 vs India, Faisalabad, 1983
Mudassar Nazar Pakistan 231 vs India, Hyderabad (Sind), 1983 152* vs India, Lahore, 1983 152 vs India, Karachi, 1983

There are 37 other occasions in Test cricket of batsman scoring 150+ in two consecutive innings, but only one such occasion involving both innings of the match — Allan Border (150 not out and 153 vs Pakistan at Lahore, 1980).

The only players who did it more than once in their Test careers are: Don Bradman (five times), Wally Hammond (thrice) and Michael Clarke (twice). Bradman and Hammond did it in 1920s to 1940s and Clarke in 2010s. It is quite surprising to see that no one did it more than once in the in between years.

200-plus in two consecutive innings

There have been six occasions of a batsman scoring double centuries in two consecutive innings. Michael Clarke was the latest to join the list with his two knocks against South Africa in 2012. Wally Hammond is the only one to have done this more than once. The others are Don Bradman, Vinod Kambli and Kumar Sangakkara.

Batsman For Innings 1 Innings 2
Wally Hammond England 251 vs Australia, SCG, 1928 200 vs Australia, MCG, 1928
Wally Hammond England 227 vs New Zealand, Christchurch, 1933 336* vs New Zealand, Eden Park, 1933
Don Bradman Australia 304 vs England, Headingley, 1934 244 vs England, The Oval, 1934
Vinod Kambli India 224 vs England, Wankhede, 1993 227 vs Zimbabwe, Kotla, 1993
Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka 200* vs Bangladesh, Colombo (PSS), 2007 222* vs Bangladesh, Kandy, 2007
Michael Clarke Australia 259* vs South Africa, The Gabba, 2012 230 vs South Africa, Adelaide, 2012

175-plus in two consecutive innings

Eight players, leaving aside those who scored double centuries in consecutive innings as shown in the previous table, have scored 175 or more in two consecutive innings. Below is the table listing them.

Batsman For Innings 1 Innings 2
Bill Ponsford Australia 181 vs England, Headingley, 1934 266 vs England, The Oval, 1934
Don Bradman Australia 187 vs England, The Gabba, 1946 234 vs England, SCG, 1946
Bill Edrich England 189 vs South Africa, Lord’s, 1947 191 vs South Africa, Old Trafford, 1947
Arthur Morris Australia 182 vs England, Headingley, 1948 196 vs England, The Oval, 1948
Bevan Congdon New Zealand 176 vs England, Trent Bridge, 1973 175 vs England, Lord’s, 1973
Mike Denness England 188 vs Australia, MCG, 1975 181 vs New Zealand, Eden Park, 1975
Zaheer Abbas Pakistan 215 vs India, Lahore, 1982 186 vs India, Karachi, 1982
Mahela Jayawardene Sri Lanka 195 vs England, Colombo (SSC), 2007 213* vs England, Galle, 2007

150 to 174 in two consecutive innings

The first batsman to hit two consecutive 150s in Test cricket was Victor Trumper in 1910-1911. He scored 159 and 214 not out against South Africa at Melbourne and Adelaide. The latest to achieve this feat is Murali Vijay with his scores of 167 and 153 against Australia at Hyderabad and Mohali in 2013. Below is the table listing the players with two consecutive 150s apart from those mentioned in the above tables.

Batsman For Innings 1 Innings 2
Victor Trumper Australia 159 vs South Africa, MCG, 1910 214* vs South Africa, Adelaide, 1911
Don Bradman Australia 223 vs West Indies, The Gabba, 1931 152 vs West Indies, MCG, 1931
Don Bradman Australia 167 vs South Africa, MCG, 1931 299* vs South Africa, Adelaide, 1932
Wally Hammond England 167 vs India, Old Trafford, 1936 217 vs India, The Oval, 1936
Don Bradman Australia 212 vs England, Adelaide, 1937 169 vs England, MCG, 1937
Denis Compton England 163 vs South Africa, Trent Bridge, 1947 208 vs South Africa, Lord’s, 1947
Everton Weekes West Indies 194 vs Ind, Brabourne, 1948 162 vs India, Eden Gardens, 1948
Vijay Hazare India 164* vs England, Kotla, 1951 155 vs England, Brabourne, 1951
Colin Cowdrey England 154 vs West Indies, Edgbaston, 1957 152 vs West Indies, Lord’s, 1957
Allan Border Australia 150* vs Pakistan, Lahore, 1980 153 vs Pakistan, Lahore, 1980
Gordon Greenidge West Indies 154* vs India, St John’s, 1983 194 vs India, Kanpur, 1983
David Gower England 215 vs Australia, Edgbaston, 1985 157 vs Australia, The Oval, 1985
Dilip Vengsarkar India 153 vs Sri Lanka, Nagpur, 1986 166 vs Sri Lanka, Cuttack, 1987
Steve Waugh Australia 177* vs England, Headingley, 1989 152* vs England, Lord’s, 1989
Aamer Sohail Pakistan 160 vs West Indies, Rawalpindi, 1997 160 vs West Indies, Karachi, 1997
Darryl Cullinan South Africa 275* vs New Zealand, Eden Park, 1999 152 vs New Zealand, Wellington, 1999
Gary Kirsten South Africa 150 vs Bangladesh, East London, 2002 160 vs Bangladesh, Potchefstroom, 2002
Marvan Atapattu Sri Lanka 170 vs Zimbabwe, Harare, 2004 249 vs Zimbabwe, Bulawayo, 2004
Marcus Trescothick England 194 vs Bangladesh, Lord’s, 2005 151 vs Bangladesh, Chester-le-Street, 2005
Mohammad Yousuf Pakistan 223 vs England, Lahore, 2005 173 vs India, Lahore, 2006
Virender Sehwag India 151 vs Australia, Adelaide, 2008 319 vs South Africa, Chepauk, 2008
Ashwell Prince South Africa 162* vs Bangladesh, Centurion, 2008 150 vs Australia, Newlands, 2009
Michael Clarke Australia 166 vs Pakistan, Bellerive, 2010 168 vs New Zealand, Wellington, 2010
Murali Vijay India 167 vs Australia, Hyderabad, 2013 153 vs Australia, Mohali, 2013

The only batsman from New Zealand to feature in the above lists is Bevan Congdon, while there are only two from West Indies — Everton Weekes and Gordon Greenidge. The other teams have at least three mentions.

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at He can be followed on Twitter at and on Facebook at