Asia Cup 2018: India’s record in Asia Cup finals
India are defending champions having won the 2016 Asia Cup. @AFP

Friday will pit India against Bangladesh in the final of the 2018 Asia Cup. Victories over Hong Kong, Pakistan (twice), Bangladesh and a tie against Afghanistan have seen Rohit Sharma s team march into the summit clash undefeated, which also marks the ninth time that an Indian team has made the final of the Asia Cup.

Here s a recap of the past instances when Indian teams have played Asia Cup finals.

Wills Asia Cup 1988

India were victors in 1988, beating Sri Lanka in the final in Dhaka. On the big day, Sri Lanka were kept to 176 in 43.2 overs with Kris Srikkanth the surprise package with 3/12 in 3.2 overs. Navjot Singh Sidhu cracked four fours and three sixes in a devastating 76 off 87 balls, while skipper Dilip Vengsarkar sensibly finished the chase in 37.1 overs with 50 not out off 81 balls.

Sidhu was named Player of the Series for his 179 runs at 59.66, with three fifties in four innings.

Asia Cup 1991

A hat-trick of titles for India, this time under Mohammad Azharuddin who hit 54 not out in the final as Sri Lanka were defeated by seven wickets at Eden Gardens. Four wickets to Kapil Dev led the way as Sri Lanka were kept to 204/9 after which Sanjay Manjrekar (75*), Sachin Tendulkar (53) and Azhar finished the chase.

Mohammad Azharuddin scored 90* in the 1995 Asia Cup final
Mohammad Azharuddin scored 90* in the 1995 Asia Cup final. @Getty

Pepsi Asia Cup 1995

Chasing 231 against Sri Lanka in the final, India romped home with eight wickets to spare in the 42nd over thanks to Sidhu (84*) and skipper Azharuddin (90*).

Pepsi Asia Cup 1997

Tendulkar s team needed to win their last game to qualify for the final. They duly beat Bangladesh by nine wickets in a rain-reduced match but then lost to Sri Lanka in the final, where Sanath Jayasuriya, Marvan Atapattu and Arjuna Ranatunga hit fifties in a seven-wicket win for the hosts.

Asia Cup 2004

Led by Sourav Ganguly, India beat UAE, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka to enter the final at the Premadasa, where the bowlers did very well to keep the hosts to 228/9 only for the batting to come a cropper. Chasing 229 for the title, India slumped to 26/2 and then lost Tendulkar for 74 in the 40th over at 140/7. Harbhajan Singh (16) and Zaheer Khan (28*) offered some fight but India fell 25 runs short.

Asia Cup 2008

Four years later, India again reached the final, this time in Karachi, and were undone by Sri Lanka. Jayasuriya rolled back the years with 125 from 114 balls and then it was the turn of young spin sensation Ajantha Mendis to bamboozle India with 6/13 as they lost by 100 runs.

Ashish Nehra claimed 4/40 to bowl India to an 81-run win in 2010.
Ashish Nehra claimed 4/40 to bowl India to an 81-run win in 2010. @AFP

Asia Cup 2010

MS Dhoni s team emerged triumphant in the 2010 edition in Sri Lanka. In the final at Dambulla, India made 268/6 with Dinesh Karthik, a late call-up to the squad, scoring 66 soon after arriving in Sri Lanka. Ashish Nehra claimed 4/40 to bowl India to an 81-run win.

Asia Cup 2016

India, under Dhoni, stormed to the title in 2016 in what was a T20 format Asia Cup. They beat Bangladesh (by 45 runs), Pakistan (by five wickets), Sri Lanka (by five wickets) and UAE (by nine wickets) to storm into the final. Hosts Bangladesh were no match, beaten by eight wickets. They were kept to 120/5 in 20 overs and India chased it in 14.5 overs, with Shikhar Dhawan getting 60 off 44 balls, Virat Kohli 41* from 28 and Dhoni 20* off six.