CA bans on Smith, Warner and Bancroft to stand: What this means for the players
David Warner and Steven Smith will not be playing for Australia before their bans are over. @Getty

The unanimous decision by a seven-member Cricket Australia (CA) board on Tuesday not to alter the bans handed down to the trio of Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft for their roles in the ball-tampering scandal has not come as a surprise, given how firm the ruling body had remained on the penalties after the Australian Cricketers Association (ACA) submitted a plea to cut them.

Here’s a look at the main talking points after the CA board’s decision:

What does this mean for the banned trio?

Smith and Warner’s bans were for 12 months, which means they will not be available for selection for Australia, New South Wales or their BBL franchises until March 30.

Bancroft’s nine-month suspension will end on December, 29 meaning he could be selected for the Perth Scorchers’ 2018-19 Big Bash League match against the Hobart Hurricanes on December 30. Scorchers coach Adam Voges anticipates the suspended Western Australia batsman will come straight into the side once available. Bancroft, the player who was picked up by cameras at Newlands in March attempting to tamper with the ball and then trying to hide the foreign object, will play for Durham once his ban ends in December.

Are the player on course for World Cup and Ashes selection?

Justin Langer, Australia’s head coach, has stated that all three players should be welcomed back in 2019, with the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup followed immediately by the Ashes, also in England. There has been no vocal opposition to the three returning once their bans are completed.

Smith recently caught up with team-mates Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins for lunch, where Australia’s batting problems ahead of the World Cup were discussed.

What cricket have Smith, Warner and Bancroft played since March?

While Smith and Warner were permitted to play T20 franchise cricket in Canada and the Caribbean while they serve 12-year suspensions, Bancroft has since March only played in he Northern Territory Strike League. Smith and Warner also played for their respective clubs in Sydney grade cricket.

What has happened since the trio was banned?

Australia lost an ODI series in England 0-5, a two-match Test series in the UAE against Pakistan 0-1 and were then beaten 0-3 in the T20Is. Most recently, South Africa beat them 2-1 in an ODI series in Australia and then in a one-off T2oI.

They have lost five of their last six T20Is and recently slumped to their 18th ODI defeat in 21 matches. During this time, they lost an unprecedented seven successive ODIs.