CLT20 2013: Mumbai Indians vs Trinidad and Tobago 2nd semi-final — Players' report card

Sachin Tendulkar (left) and Dwayne Smith shared 90 runs partnership for the first-wicket © PTI

Mumbai Indians entered the final of the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) 2013 in grand style as they beat Trinidad and Tobago by six wickets on Saturday. Evin Lewis and Sunil Narine were the positives for Trinidad and Tobago on a disappointing night. Dwayne Smith and Dinesh Karthik starred for Mumbai. And how can anyone forget Sachin Tendulkar’s cameo. Shrikant Shankar analyses each player’s contribution from the match.

It is Sachin Tendulkar vs Rahul Dravid in the final of the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) 2013. Mumbai Indians joined Rajasthan Royals in the final after a six-wicket win over Trinidad and Tobago in New Delhi at the Feroz Shah Kotla. There were a lot of important contributions in the match from both sides. Let’s look at all the players and how they performed in the match.

Trinidad and Tobago (In batting order)

Lendl Simmons – 3/10
The experienced West Indies batsman was set up well by Harbhajan Singh. Lendl Simmons slogged at a flighted delivery but did not time it well and Dwayne Smith took a simple catch at deep mid-wicket. Simmons was out for a four-ball duck.

Evin Lewis – 8/10
Ewin Lewis was Trinidad and Tobago’s best batsman on the night. He scored 62 off 46 balls with six fours and four sixes. The left-hander was batting brilliantly, but was deceived by a slower delivery from Kieron Pollard and gave a simple catch back to the bowler.

Darren Bravo – 4/10
The left-hander had just set his eye in when he lost his wicket for 14 off 16 balls. Pragyan Ojha bowled one down the leg side and Darren Bravo lost balance while attempting a flick towards square-leg. Dinesh Karthik did the rest and in quick time.

Yannick Ottley – 7/10
Yannick Ottley remained not-out right till the end for Trinidad and Tobago. He scored 41 off 30 balls with two fours and two sixes. He helped his team post a total of 153 for five in 20 overs. The slow left-arm bowler, however, was very expensive which took some points away from his overall performance. He gave away 38 runs in three overs.

Denesh Ramdin – 4/10
The Trinidad and Tobago captain could not do much with the bat. He was dismissed for nine off eight balls. He did take two catches behind the wicket off consecutive deliveries.

Nicolas Pooran – 4/10
Nicolas Pooran went for a big shot down the ground off Nathan Coulter-Nile but got a toe-end to it. Ambati Rayudu took the catch at long-off. Pooran was dismissed for 15 off 14 balls.
Navin Stewart – 3/10
Navin Stewart could only bat for two deliveries and remained unbeaten on two runs. The right-arm fast-medium bowler bowled two overs and conceded 20 runs.

Sunil Narine – 8/10
It seems that he was born for this format. Sunil Narine did not bat, but did more than enough to cause a small wobble in the mighty Mumbai batting order. The right-arm spinner picked up three wickets — Rayudu, Dwayne Smith and Rohit Sharma. His efforts, however, went in vain as Mumbai won by a comfortable margin, eventually.

Rayad Emritt – N/A
The right-arm medium-fast bowler suffered a shoulder injury while fielding at mid-off. He played no further part in the game.

Samuel Badree – 3/10
Samuel Badree was on the economical side, for a Twenty20 game, but went wicket-less in his four overs. The right-arm leg-spinner conceded 25 runs.

Ravi Rampaul – 3/10
Similar to Badree, Ravi Rampaul also went wicket-less while only conceding 29 runs in four overs.
Mumbai Indians (In batting order)

Dwayne Smith – 9/10
Dwayne Smith again played an important knock at the top of the order for Mumbai. He scored 59 off 38 balls with seven fours and two sixes. He was rightly awarded as the Man of the Match. Smith was bowled by Narine.

Sachin Tendulkar – 7/10
There was some Sachin Tendulkar left in the current form. The maestro, who has been severely out of form, scored 35 off 31 balls. He struck two fours and two consecutive sixes to get things going for Mumbai.

Ambati Rayudu – 2/10
It generally does not get lower than this. Rayudu was out for a first-ball duck. He edged one to Ramdin off Narine.

Rohit Sharma – 5/10
Rohit Sharma could not repeat the heroics he performed from the previous match onto the semi-final. But it was not exactly needed. The Mumbai Indians captain was dismissed for 25 off 22 balls. He was bowled by Narine.

Dinesh Karthik – 7/10
The wicketkeeper-batsman was promoted ahead of Pollard and he made it count. He struck three fours and two sixes in his innings of 33 not out off 21 balls to help Mumbai win the match.

Kieron Pollard – 5/10
Pollard could only face two deliveries and scored three off them. He picked up one wicket and conceded 16 runs in three overs.

Mitchell Johnson – 4/10
Mitchell Johnson gave away 31 runs in three overs. He did bowl Ramdin.

Nathan Coulter-Nile – 6/10
The right-arm medium-fast bowler was impressive with the ball. Coulter-Nile picked up one wicket and conceded only 20 runs.

Harbhajan Singh – 5/10
Harbhajan Singh dismissed Simmons, but apart from that could not add to his tally. He also gave away 35 runs in four overs.

Rishi Dhawan – 3/10
Normally Rishi Dhawan has been quite reliable with the ball in this tournament, but on Saturday he gave away 30 runs in three overs. However, it did not cost Mumbai much as they won, but if they are to beat Rajasthan, Dhawan would need to tighten the run flow.

Pragyan Ojha – 6/10
The left-arm spinner picked up the wicket of Darren Bravo and was miserly for a T20 match as he gave away only 16 runs in three overs. Ojha would need to repeat this performance in the final if Mumbai are to win.
(Shrikant Shankar previously worked with Mobile ESPN, where he did audio commentary for many matches involving India, Indian Premier League and Champions League Twenty20. He has also written many articles involving other sports for You can follow him on Twitter @Shrikant_23)