Cricket World Cup 2019: Australia team profile – all you need to know
Australia are five-time winners and the defending champions (AFP Photo)

Australian cricket team has sprung back to life ahead of the World Cup after having endured a terrible last year where on and off-field issues kept them in the limelight. A series of events starting from the infamous ball-tampering scandal till the cultural review that revealed a win-at-all-cost attitude has seen a sea change in the personals running the game both on and off the field. With a fresh attitude, under the leadership of Aaron Finch and with premier batsmen Steve Smith and David Warner back in the side, the defending champions have gained enough confidence that has put them among the favourites.

The most successful team in the history of the ICC World Cups comes to England after two consecutive ODI series victories over powerhouse India and Pakistan. The wins have instilled a belief in them that a record-extending sixth title could be soon a reality.

World Cup record: P 85 W 61 L 21 T 1 NR 2

Squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Cricket World Cup 2019 Full squads

Likely starting XI: 1. David Warner, 2. Aaron Finch, 3. Usman Khawaja 4. Steve Smith, 5, Glenn Maxwell, 6. Marcus Stoinis, 7. Alex Carey, 8. Mitchell Starc, 9. Pat Cummins, 10. Jason Behrendorff, 11 Adam Zampa



June 1 vs Afghanistan, County Ground, Bristol

June 6 vs West Indies, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

June 9 vs India, Kennington Oval, London

June 12 vs Pakistan, The Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton

June 15 vs Sri Lanka, Kennington Oval, London

June 20 vs Bangladesh, Trent Bridge, Nottingham

June 25 vs England, Lord’s, London

June 29 vs New Zealand, Lord’s, London

July 6 vs South Africa, Old Trafford, Manchester

World Cup standings: 1975: Runners-up; 1979: Exited in group stage; 1983: Exited in group stage; 1987: Winners; 1992: Exited in round-robin stage; 1996: Runners-up; 1999: Winners; 2003: Winners; 2007: Winners; 2011: Quarter-finalists; 2015: Winners

Most runs: Ricky Ponting 1743 runs in 46 matches at 45.86

Most wickets: Glenn McGrath 71 wickets in 39 matches at 18.19