Bhuvneshwar achieved the personal landmark in his 96th ODI and is the 19th Indian bowler to reach the triple-figure mark in terms of wicket
Bhuvneshwar achieved the personal landmark in his 96th ODI and is the 19th Indian bowler to reach the triple-figure mark in terms of wicket

Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar claimed his 100th ODI wicket with the scalp of Australia skipper Aaron Finch in the 1st ODI of the three-match series at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on Saturday. (LIVE SCORE: Australia vs India Live Score – 1st ODI)

After opting to bat first, skipper Finch was castled through the gates in the third over of the match – second of Bhuvneshwar – after Finch was lucky to survive a close LBW appeal against the UP bowler.(LIVE UPDATES: India vs Australia 2018-19, 1st ODI)

Bhuvneshwar achieved the personal landmark in his 96th ODI and is the 19th Indian bowler to reach the triple-figure mark in terms of wickets. He is the 11th Indian fast bowler to the mark. (TOSS REPORT: Australia opt to bat first; debut for Behrendorff, Karthik, Shami in for India)

Anil Kumble is the all-time leading wicket-taker for India with 334 wickets in 2689 matches, followed Javagal Srinath with 315 wickets in 229 matches. Among active Indian cricketers Ravindra Jadeja is the leading wicket-taker for India with 169 wickets in 144 matches.

Mohammed Shami, who is playing in the series is at 94 wickets in 52 matches. The fastest Indian bowler to 100 wickets remains Irfan Pathan who got to the mark in his 59th ODI. Shami is in sight to break the record.

Most wickets for India in ODIs

Player Matches Wickets BBI
Anil Kumble 269 334 6/12
Javagal Srinath 229 315 5/23
Ajit Agarkar 191 288 6/42
Zaheer Khan 194 269 5/42
Harbhajan Singh 234 265 5/31
Kapil Dev 225 253 5/43
Venkatesh Prasad 161 196 5/27
Irfan Pathan 120 173 5/27
Ravindra Jadeja 144 169 5/36
Manoj Prabhakar 130 157 5/33
Ashish Nehra 117 155 6/23
Sachin Tendulkar 463 154 5/32
Ravichandran Ashwin 111 150 4/25
Ravi Shastri 150 129 5/15
Ishant Sharma 80 115 4/34
Yuvraj Singh 301 110 5/31
Umesh Yadav 75 106 4/31
Sourav Ganguly 308 100 5/16
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 96* 100* 5/42


Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bat first at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Saturday against India. (Australia vs India Live Score – 1st ODI)

For Australia, the 28-year-old Jason Behrendorff will make his ODI debut after he was awarded his ODI cap by the great Glenn McGrath ahead of the game. The hosts had announced their XI a day earlier and veteran Peter Siddle makes his return after a gap of nine years in the ODI team. (LIVE UPDATES: India vs Australia 2018-19, 1st ODI )

For India, with KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya sent home over misconduct, Ravindra Jadeja retains his place in the XI after featuring in India’s last ODI against West Indies in Trivandrum. Mohammad Shami comes in for the rested Jasprit Bumrah.

Here’s what both the skippers had to say after the toss:

Finch: We are gonna bat first mate. I think the middle overs we have to get it right, we have identified. We need to brush up there and improve. I think we need to keep wickets in the back end. Freshened up after playing BBL.

Kohli: We would have batted first as well but some of the players are inclined towards chasing. It’s a brilliant wicket to play on, with shorter boundary on one side. It’s going to be an exciting chase as I am always inclined towards chasing. That’s always not the team plan, we need to take a collective decision. Anyways we have to bowl first now. We are always looking to improve as a side.

We need to restrict teams to a lesser total, something that’s difficult these days. We need to strike when the big games arrive. When two quality players (Hardik and Rahul) are not featuring, it upsets the balance of the side. There are few guys who’ve got a chance to prove themselves. Jadeja is back in the ODI side, let’s see what he’s got to offer.

Playing XI

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed

Australia: Aaron Finch(c), Alex Carey(w), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff