Kapil Dev Sunil Gavaskar BCCI Lifetime Achievement CK Nayudu Col Anshuman Gaekwad Pankaj Roy Lala Amarnath Mushtaq Ali Vijay Hazare KN Prabhu Polly Umrigar Hemu Adhikari Subhash Gupte Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi BB Nimbalkar Chandu Borde Bishan Singh Bedi Srinivas Venkataraghavan EAS Prasanna Bhagwat Chandrasekhar Nari Contractor Gundappa Viswanath Mohinder Amarnath Salim Durani Ajit Wadekar Dilip Vengsarkar Syed Kirmani Padmakar Shivalkar Rajinder Goel Shantha Rangaswamy Sudha Shah Diana Edulji
Kapil Dev (left) and Sunil Gavaskar AFP

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will honour Anshuman Gaekwad and the late Pankaj Roy with Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons respectively. Roy played 43 Tests for India between 1951 and 1960, and scored 2,442 runs at 32.56 with 5 hundreds. He led India once, at Lord’s in 1959, but is mostly remembered for his opening stand of 413 with Vinoo Mankad against New Zealand at Madras in 1955-56. The world record stood till 2008.

Gaekwad had a near-identical career, with 1,985 runs from 40 Tests at 30.07 and 2 hundreds. He also played 15 ODIs. His most famous innings was his 671-minute 201 against Pakistan at Jalandhar in 1983-84, at one point the slowest Test double-hundred.

Gaekwad and Roy will be the 28th and 29th recipients of Col. CK Nayudu Award. BCCI have announced the award 23 times, including two instances of joint award winners, in 2003-04 (to the spin quartet of Bishan Singh Bedi, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, EAS Prasanna, and Srinivas Venkataraghavan) 2015-16 (to Padmakar Shivalkar and Rajinder Goel). Here is the complete list, one that started with Lala Amarnath in 1993-94 and includes some of the greatest names of Indian cricket, like Sunil Gavaskar and Kapil Dev.

BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award (men): Col. CK Nayudu Award
Year Recipient
1993-94 Lala Amarnath
1994-95 Mushtaq Ali
1995-96 Vijay Hazare
1996-97 KN Prabhu
1997-98 Polly Umrigar
1998-99 Hemu Adhikari
1999-00 Subhash Gupte
2000-01 Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi
2001-02 BB Nimbalkar
2002-03 Chandu Borde
2003-04 Bishan Singh Bedi, Srinivas Venkataraghavan, EAS Prasanna, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar
2006-07 Nari Contractor
2007-08 Gundappa Viswanath
2008-09 Mohinder Amarnath
2009-10 Salim Durani
2010-11 Ajit Wadekar
2011-12 Sunil Gavaskar
2012-13 Kapil Dev
2013-14 Dilip Vengsarkar
2014-15 Syed Kirmani
2015-16 Padmakar Shivalkar, Rajinder Goel
2016-17 Anshuman Gaekwad
2017-18 Pankaj Roy

The list includes KN Prabhu, the only sports journalist to have won the award. Shivalkar, Goel, and BB Nimbalkar are the only non-Test cricketers to have been thus honoured.

From 2015-16, BCCI also honoured female cricketers with the corresponding award. Shantha Rangaswamy, India’s first captain in Women’s Tests, was fittingly the first recipient. Here is the complete list:

BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award (women)
Year Recipient
2015-16 Shantha Rangaswamy
2016-17 Sudha Shah
2017-18 Diana Edulji (declined)

Diana Edulji was named for the 2017-18 season, but she declined the award on the grounds that she is part of the BCCI CoA.

BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award (women)
Year Recipient
2015-16 Shantha Rangaswamy
2016-17 Sudha Shah
2017-18 Diana Edulji (declined)