India had scored 84 for 3 off their 10 overs. They needed 83 more to lift the Nidahas Trophy 2018. It was India s game to lose and the bad news for Bangladesh was Rohit Sharma remained at the crease, two short of his fifty. Only 13 came off the next three overs. Manish Pandey struggled and in bid to accelerate Rohit lost his wicket. 28 came off the next three overs before Mustafizur Rahman exhibited outrageous skills against Vijay Shankar to bowl a maiden wicket (conceded only a leg-bye). Pandey was back in the hut.

The world wondered why Dinesh Karthik wasn t out in the middle. He was, finally. A bit too late, perhaps. India needed 34 off the last two overs. 167 was looking distant. Rubel Hossain had been Bangladesh s star bowler in the tournament. He had gone for 13 off his three overs and picked two wickets. Match Report

Karthik went 6, 4, 6, 0, 2 and 4. His Tamil Nadu captain, Shankar, continued to struggle. A topsy-turvy over saw Shankar fall and the equation was 5 needed off the last ball. Were India missing MS Dhoni? Karthik drove one over deep extra cover for a six. Bangladeshis were reduced to tears, India celebrated. The Rohit Sharma-led second string Indian side had pocketed the Nidahas Trophy 2018, a tournament that was played to mark Sri Lanka s 70th year of independence. Full Updates of Nidahas Trophy 2018 Final

Here s the match, in pictures:

‘Amar Sonar Bangla’ and ‘Jana Gana Mana’ are the national anthems of Bangladesh and India respectively. Both the songs are in Bengali and penned by Rabindranath Tagore (Image courtesy: AFP)

Yuzvendra Chahal started the carnage. He gave away 18 from his four overs and claimed 3 wickets. He went past Ashish Nehra to be the third highest wicket-taker for India in T20Is (Image courtesy: AFP)

Bangladesh were 68 for 4 in the 11th over. India had great support from the crowd. The Sri Lankan crowd had made it clear to root for India after the ugly scenes against Bangladesh on Friday (Image courtesy: AFP)

Sabbir Rahman marked Bangladesh’s recovery with a 50-ball 77 (Image courtesy: AFP)

Jaydev Unadkat brought India back in the game in the penultimate over. He gave away 2 off his first ball, cleaned up Sabbir and then a wide before cleaning up Rubel. He gave only three away and got two wickets (Image courtesy: AFP)

Mehedi Hasan played a cameo in the final over. His 7-ball 19 not out lifted Bangladesh to 166 (Image courtesy: AFP)

India were off to a flyer and reached 30 off just 13 balls. Shakib Al Hasan’s guile then got the better off Shikhar Dhawan. Suresh Raina followed him soon for 0 (Image courtesy: AFP)

Rohit Sharma continued to threaten with his presence. He notched up his 14th T20I fifty and in process became the 10th batsman and 3rd Indian after Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina to register 7,000 T20 runs (Image courtesy: AFP)

Rohit found an able partner in KL Rahul. Both added 51 off 36 balls for the third wicket (Image courtesy: AFP)

Rahul was dismissed by Rubel Hossain and Nazmul Islam got the key wicket of Rohit and celebrated with his ‘Naagin Dance’ (Image courtesy: AFP)

The infectious Naagin Dance spread all around.

Manish Pandey was far from his fluent best, striking a 27-ball 28. He struggled to get going along with Vijay Shankar. Both added 35 runs off 28 balls when the asking rate was over 10 an over (Image courtesy: AFP)

Man of the Tournament (left) and Man of the Match in the same frame. Dinesh Karthik came to the crease slamming from ball one in the T20I final. Karthik struck a 8-ball 29* to guide India home (Image courtesy: AFP)

The world came crashing down for Bangladesh who were sniffing their maiden victory against India in the format (Image courtesy: AFP)

Nidahas Trophy 1998 was played to mark Sri Lanka’s 50 years of independence. Mohammad Azharuddin lifted it. Now it’s Rohit Sharma, who has been quite impressive with his captaincy (Image courtesy: AFP)

Team India celebrate with the Nidahas Trophy 2018. They deserved it.
(Image courtesy: AFP)

Bangladesh 166 for 8 (Sabbir Rahman 77, Mahmudullah 21; Yuzvendra Chahal 3 for 18) lost to India 168 for 6 (Rohit Sharma 56, Dinesh Karthik 29*; Rubel Hossain 2 for 35) by 4 wickets.

Man of the Match: Dinesh Karthik

Man of the Series: Washington Sundar