India vs Australia: A brief T20I history

India and Australia start their series with the first Twenty20 international in Visakhapatnam on Sunday, which pits the teams together for the sixth time in the format in India.

Virat Kohli’s Indian team is ranked second in T20Is and Aaron Finch‘s Australia are fifth.

India have won four of five T20Is versus Australia at home, dating back to 2007. (READ: Five takeaways from India’s ODI squad to face Australia)

Here’s a recap of the past India vs Australia T20Is matches in India.

2007 – India won by seven wickets

In the first T20I meeting between the teams in India, MS Dhoni’s team won easily at the Brabourne Stadium. Ricky Ponting chose to bat and top-scored with 76 off 53 balls, the only 25-plus score in Australia’s 166/5 in 20 overs. Chasing 167, India won with 11 deliveries remaining. Gautam Gambhir was Man of the Match for scoring 63 off 52 balls while Robin Uthappa (35) and Yuvraj Singh (31*) played winning hands.

India take a victory lap on top of the car presented to Gautam Gambhir as the Man of the Match.
India take a victory lap on top of the car presented to Gambhir as Man of the Match. AFP

2013 – India won by six wickets

A thriller in Rajkot. Set a target of 202 after Finch hit 89 off 52 balls in Australia’s 201/7, India were taken home by Yuvraj, who slammed 77 not out off just 35 balls, and Dhoni who made a calm 24 not out from 21 balls.

2016 – India won by six wickets

A superb unbeaten 82 off 51 balls from Kohli, arguably the best innings of his T20I career, took India home and into the semi-finals of the 2016 ICC World T20.

India’s target was 161, and at 49/3 following the wickets of Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina the chase needed a facelift. Kohli found help from Yuvraj (21 off 18) and Dhoni (18* off 10) but it was his batting, exceptional on the day, that proved the defining factor. Kohli hit nine fours and two sixes.

Virat Kohli soaks in the emotions of beating Australia in Mohali in 2016.
Virat Kohli soaks in the emotions of beating Australia in Mohali in 2016. Getty

2017 – India won by nine wickets

The short series in 2017 began with India hammering Australia in Ranchi. Some terrific work from the bowlers kept Australia to 118/8, with Finch’s 42 the best score, and the a Duckworth-Lewis chase of 48 in six overs was completed in 5.3 overs with Dhawan (15*) and Kohli (22*) the finishers. Kuldeep Yadav (2/16), Jasprit Bumrah (2/17) and Yuzvendra Chahal (1/23) laid the groundwork in the field.

2017 – Australia won by eight wickets

Australia drew level in the second T20I in Guwahati, with Jason Behrendorff the star with 4/21. His left-arm pace, in seaming conditions, unravelled India’s innings for 118 in 20 overs. Behrendorff dismissed Rohit, Dhawan, Kohli – for 0 – and Manish Pandey to leave India 27/5, and Kedar Jadhav (27) and Hardik Pandya (27) proved the only resistance.

Chasing 119, Australia won in 15.3 overs. The loss of the openers inside three overs was followed by a superb stand between Moises Henriques (62* off 46) and Travis Head (48* off 4).

The final T20I was washed out.