Thanks to Brendon McCullum blitzs CSK generally get good starts in their innings © IANS
Thanks to Brendon McCullum’s explosive start, CSK generally get good starts in their innings © IANS

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) scored 90 in the Powerplay overs against Mumbai Indians (MI) at Wankhede Stadium in Indian Premier League (IPL) on April 17, 2015. Bharath Seervi looks at the highest totals in Powerplay overs across the eight seasons in IPL.

The openers were Dwayne Smith and Brendon McCullum — two of the most experienced batsmen in T20 cricket. The target was 184, and the opposition was MI at their home ground Wankhede. The CSK openers showed a brilliant batting display in chasing this big total. They scored six runs in the first over, 12 runs in the second, 11 in third, 21 in fourth, 22 in fifth and 18 in the sixth. The total reached 90 runs in the first six overs — the Powerplay overs. READ: Indian Premier League (IPL): Lowest Powerplay over scores

The 90 scored by CSK is the second-most scored in the Powerplay overs in the history of IPL. The highest Powerplay total is also by them: they had scored exactly 100 while chasing a huge 227 in the Qualifiers of the 2014 season against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). IPL 2015 Previews

The table below lists the highest Powerplay scores in the IPL history.

Highest Powerplay scores in IPL (80 or more):

Score Team Against Venue Date Result
100/2 CSK KXIP Wankhede 30-May-14 Lost
90/0 CSK MI Wankhede 17-Apr-15 Won
87/2 KTK RR Indore 15-May-11 Won
86/1 KXIP SRH Hyderabad 14-May-14 Won
84/1 DC DD Centurion 22-May-09 Won

All above five instances have been while chasing, two of those in the second round of the tournament — CSK vs KXIP in Qualifiers of 2014 and Deccan Chargers (DC) vs Delhi Daredevils (DD) in the semi-finals of 2009. IPL 2015 schedule: IPL 8 match time table with venue details

Scoring 60 or more runs in Powerplay overs most times in IPL:

It was the 14th time CSK scored 60 or more runs (run rate of over 10) in the Powerplay overs in IPL. Though CSK have the top two Powerplay scores, KXIP has scored 60 or more runs in Powerplay overs most times in IPL — a whopping 15 times. DD have also reached 60 in Powerplay overs 14 times in IPL.

Highest Powerplay scores for each team in IPL

Team Score Against Venue Date Result
CSK 100/2 KXIP Wankhede 30-May-14 Lost
DC 84/1 DD Centurion 22-May-09 Won
DD 71/0 RCB Chinnaswamy 19-May-08 Won
KXIP 86/1 SRH Hyderabad 14-May-14 Won
KTK 87/2 RR Indore 15-May-11 Won
KKR 68/0 PWI Eden Gardens 05-May-12 Won
MI 78/0 CSK Wankhede 14-May-08 Won
PWI 64/1 RR Pune 11-Apr-13 Won
RR 73/1 DC Hyderabad 24-Apr-08 Won
RCB 79/1 KTK Chinnaswamy 08-May-11 Won
SRH 64/0 CSK Ranchi 22-May-14 Won

Barring Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), all were scored while chasing and all of them won except CSK. KKR, Pune Warriors India (PWI) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have not yet crossed 70 runs in their Powerplay overs.

Losing most number of wickets in Powerplay overs scoring more than 70 runs

There are two occasions of a team losing three wickets though they scored 70 or more runs in their Powerplay overs. KXIP had scored 73 for 3 against DD in 2008 and MI 71 for 3 against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2014.

The lowest Powerplay score where a team didn’t lose any wicket is 27 without loss by PWI vs SRH in 2013. Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015: Complete coverage

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at He can be followed on Twitter at and on Facebook at