There are three occasions of a team losing five wickets in the Powerplay overs, KXIP featured in one of those © IANS

Mumbai Indians (MI) scored a mere 17 from Powerplay overs against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 encounter at Wankhede Stadium. Bharath Seervi looks at the lowest totals in Powerplay overs across the eight seasons.

It was a bizarre performance by the MI top order against KXIP at their home ground Wankhede Stadium on April 12, 2015 in the seventh match of the eighth IPL edition. MI were set a target of 178 by KXIP. READ: Indian Premier League (IPL): Highest Powerplay over scores

MI skipper Rohit Sharma was out for a second-ball duck in the very first over of the chase. Subsequent batsmen followed their captain well. Only one among top five batsmen got to the double-digit mark, but the first half of the chase was the real shock. IPL 2015 Previews

Only 17 runs were scored in the Powerplay overs for the loss of three wickets; the score read 32 runs at the end of 10 overs. The tally of 17 from Powerplay overs is a one of the lowest in Powerplay overs in the history of IPL. The table below has the list for the lowest totals in Powerplay overs in IPL. IPL 2015 schedule: IPL 8 match time table with venue details

Less than 20 runs in the Powerplay overs in IPL

Score Team Against Venue Date Result
14/2 RR RCB Newlands 18-Apr-09 Lost
15/2 CSK KKR Eden Gardens 07-May-11 Lost
17/1 RCB CSK Ranchi 18-May-14 Won
17/3 MI KXIP Wankhede 12-Apr-15 Lost
18/1 RR MI Jaipur 29-Apr-11 Won
19/2 KXIP PWI Pune 08-Apr-12 Lost

The record for most wickets lost in Powerplay overs in IPL is six for Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK) against Deccan Chargers (DC) in IPL 2011. KTK were reduced to 27 for 6 at the end of six overs. In fact, they were reduced to 11 for 6 thanks to Ishant Sharma, who took five of them. IPL 2015: CSK, KKR, RCB, KXIP, MI, RR, SRH, DD full team details in IPL 8

There are three occasions of a team losing five wickets in the Powerplay overs: — KXIP against Pune Warriors (PWI) in 2011, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2013 and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against RR in 2014.

Lowest Powerplay score for each team in IPL

17 for 3 is the lowest Powerplay overs score for MI in IPL. The table below lists the lowest Powerplay scores for each team in IPL.

Team Score Against Venue Date Result
CSK 15/2 KKR Eden Gardens 07-May-11 Lost
DC 20/3 KTK Kochi 27-Apr-11 Won
DD 21/3 KXIP Dharamsala 16-May-13 Lost
KXIP 19/2 PWI Pune 08-Apr-12 Lost
KTK 29/6 DC Kochi 27-Apr-11 Lost
KKR 21/3 DC Newlands 19-Apr-09 Lost
MI 17/3 KXIP Wankhede 12-Apr-15 Lost
PWI 24/2 KXIP Pune 07-Apr-13 Lost
RR 14/2 RCB Newlands 18-Apr-09 Lost
RCB 17/1 CSK Ranchi 18-May-14 Won
SRH 21/3 RR Hyderabad 17-May-13 Won

Lowest aggregate score in Powerplay overs in an IPL match

At Newlands, Cape Town on April 18, 2009, RCB had scored 29 for 3 from their Powerplay overs. While chasing, RR scored 14 for 2 in Powerplay overs when their turn came. The aggregate of 43 runs in Powerplay overs is the lowest in an IPL match. Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015: Complete coverage

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at www.cricketseervistats.blogspot.com. He can be followed on Twitter at www.twitter.com/SeerviBharath and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SeerviCricket)