Steven Smith along with 20 other Australian players will play in IPL 10    AFP
Steven Smith along with 20 other Australian players will play in IPL 10 AFP

The 10th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL), in 2017, will feature 67 overseas cricketers spread across the eight franchises. The distribution is quite even, with five franchises Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) going for nine overseas players apiece; Gujarat Lions (GL) and Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) have eight each, while Delhi Daredevils (DD) have seven. Given that no side can take field with more than four overseas cricketers, the approach seems logical. The 67 overseas cricketers hail from nine countries: this includes seven Test-playing nations (barring Australia, Bangladesh, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies) and two Associate nations (Afghanistan and UAE).

Australia have the highest representatives in this (21), followed by West Indies (12), New Zealand (10), England (8), South Africa (8), Sri Lanka (3), Bangladesh (2), Afghanistan (2), and UAE (1). Here is a country-wise breakup for the 67 overseas cricketers. Fortunately, there is little international cricket during this period: Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are still playing, but that will get over on April 6, a day after IPL takes off. West Indies and Pakistan, on the other hand, will continue to play well into May, but that will not matter either: while there is no Pakistani in IPL 2017, West Indies, too, have very little overlap between their Test and T20I sides. Below is the split of overseas cricketers in IPL 2017 by country:

Australia (21): Pat Cummins (DD); Aaron Finch, Andrew Tye, and James Faulkner (GL); Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Shaun Marsh (KXIP); Chris Lynn and Nathan Coulter-Nile (KKR); Mitchell Johnson (MI); Steve Smith, Adam Zampa, Dan Christian, and Usman Khawaja (RPS); Billy Stanlake, Shane Watson, and Travis Head (RCB); and David Warner, Ben Cutting, Ben Laughlin, and Moises Henriques (SRH).

West Indies (12): Carlos Brathwaite (DD); Dwayne Bravo and Dwayne Smith (GL); Darren Sammy (KXIP); Darren Bravo, Rovman Powell, and Sunil Narine (KKR); Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, and Nicholas Pooran (MI); and Chris Gayle and Samuel Badree (RCB).

New Zealand (10): Corey Anderson (DD); Brendon McCullum (KXIP); Martin Guptill and Matt Henry (KXIP); Trent Boult (KKR); Mitchell McClenaghan and Tim Southee (MI); Lockie Ferguson (RPS); Adam Milne (RCB); and Kane Williamson (SRH).

England (8): San Billings (DD); Jason Roy (GL); Eoin Morgan (KXIP); Chris Woakes (KKR); Jos Buttler (MI); Ben Stokes (RCB); and Chris Jordan (SRH).

South Africa (8): Chris Morris and Kagiso Rabada (DD); David Miller and Hashim Amla (KXIP); Faf du Plessis and Imran Tahir (RPS); and AB de Villiers and Tabraiz Shamsi (RCB).

Sri Lanka (3): Angelo Mathews (DD); and Asela Gunaratne and Lasith Malinga (MI).

Bangladesh (2): Shakib Al Hasan (KKR) and Mustafizur Rahman (SRH).

Afghanistan (2): Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan (SRH).

UAE (1): Chirag Suri (MI).


1. Every franchise has at least one Australian in their ranks. Both RPS and SRH have four Australians each, while GL, KXIP, and RCB all have three apiece.

2. On the other hand, only six franchises have West Indians (RPS and SRH miss out). KKR and MI have picked three West Indians each.

3. Though there are only 10 New Zealand cricketers, every franchise has at least one, and only two of them have gone for a second New Zealand cricketer.

4. England s case is even more curious: the eight Englishmen have gone to the eight franchises, one each.

5. In stark contrast to England, the eight South Africans have gone to four franchises (DD, KXIP, RPS, and RCB) two each.

6. Both Afghans have been acquired by SRH.

7. Despite acquiring only 7 overseas cricketers (the fewest for any franchise), DD have representatives from six nations (the most) outside India Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.

8. RPS, on the other hand, have representatives from only four overseas countries (the fewest).