Chris Gayle has registered the fastest hundred in IPL history    IANS
Chris Gayle has registered the fastest hundred in IPL history IANS

As humans our desire for speed is a never-ending quest. We purchase cars, bikes, boats, and other means to experience the thrill of being fast. One such medium is to witness speed is sports (Athletics, F1, Football or Cricket) either live or on television. In cricket, there is the sheer joy of watching the bowler uprooting a batsman s stumps, clocking over 90 mph. Or better, a batsman smacking the ball all over the stadium delivery-after-delivery. The dawn of Twenty20 format has developed the game further as a medium to experience quickness that has captivated audiences all over. Indian Premier League (IPL) has often been credited for this evolution. The game has now turned into a fast-paced affair over the past few years; with this in mind let us have a look at the fastest IPL hundreds.

Chris Gayle (30 balls) One of the most brutal hitter of the ball, Gayle came in with a reputation to keep in IPL 2013. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Gayle whipped up a storm against Pune Warriors India. He managed to hit a 66-ball 175*, that included a hundred in 30 balls, fastest across any format till date.

Yusuf Pathan (37 balls) Still budding into a T20I specialist, Yusuf Pathan tore apart Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 2010 edition. Playing for Rajasthan Royals (RR), he smacked a 37-ball hundred that included 54 runs off just 11 deliveries. His knock was a combination of power, timing and the ultimate result was a mayhem.

David Miller (38 balls) The man with the joint-fastest T20I hundred (35 balls), took 38-balls to reach his hundred playing for Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) against RCB in 2013. He smacked 8 sixes to guide his team home with 2 overs to spare.

Adam Gilchrist (42 balls) India s most wristy batsmen, VVS Laxman was lucky to spectate Gilchrist s blitz. Gilchrist needed just 42-balls to prove that T20 cricket is not for the faint of hearts. His innings included 9 fours and 10 sixes that lit by DY Patil Stadium in 2008. Mumbai Indians were at the receiving end.

AB de Villiers (43 balls) With Virat Kohli at one end of the wicket, AB de Villiers exhibited his own range of brilliance. His cuts, square drives, pulls and scoops were the highlight of the day against Gujarat Lions (GL). He reached his hundred in 43 balls (holds record of fastest ODI hundred, 31 balls).

David Warner (43 balls) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) faced the wrath of Warner in 2017 edition. Despite having a poor form heading into IPL, Warner hardly even dropped a sweat en-route his 43-ball ton. His knock was packed with 9 fours and 10 monstrous six.

Sanath Jayasuriya (45 balls) Jayasuriya was in his element playing for Mumbai Indians during the inaugural edition. Up against national teammates Muttiah Muralitharan and Chamara Kapugedara, he slammed a 45-ball hundred. His knock boasted of his signature flick over square-leg and lofted cover drives.

Murali Vijay (46 balls) Vijay, a proven Test format player, turned a new leaf in the 2010 season. Playing for Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the Monk brought out his explosive side. Rajasthan Royals were treated with as many as 11 sixes alone by Vijay, that propelled him towards a century in 46 balls. This edition became his breakthrough season, establishing him as a short-format star as well. He made it to the World T20 in West Indies.

Chris Gayle completes the top 10 list with two 46-ball hundreds coming in at No.9 and No.10, both against KXIP in 2015 and 2011 seasons respectively.

Interestingly, Virat Kohli comes in at No.13, scoring a 47-ball ton against KXIP in 2016. One could expect the upcoming IPL 11 edition to add in a few more names into the list or may be even better, Gayle s 30-ball ton.