IPL 2019, CSK vs KKR: Chennai Super Kings win toss and opt to bowl first vs Kolkata Knight Riders

Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bowl first against Kolkata Knight Riders in Match 23 of IPL 2019 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai on Tuesday.

Both teams are unchanged.


Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Harry Gurney, Prasidh Krishna

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Scott Kuggeleijn, Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir


A cursory glance at the points table and you would feel that both Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders are on equal footing with just the net-run rate drawing a wedge between them. To an extent they are. But take a closer look and the differences are quite visible.

While KKR look a deadly combo of youth and old, CSK have continued to put their faith on veterans who against all odds deliveries them a third title last season. In terms of strength, the common thread between the two sides is their spinners. If KKR boast of Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine and Piyush Chawla, CSK have Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir and Ravindra Jadeja. Their meeting in Match 23 of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) could very well turn out to be a battle of spinners with the Chennai pitch favouring the slow bowlers from day one.

Both teams are coming on the back of satisfying victories. While CSK got the better of Kings XI Punjab, KKR crushed Rajasthan Royals on Sunday night. With MS Dhoni time and again proving his tactical mastery, it will be quite a contest as he plans to negate the threat of a red-hot KKR batting line-up, powered a of Andre Russell who is having a dream start to the season.