The last time Mumbai Indians (MI) faced Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at Mohali this year, the former returned with an eight-wicket defeat a loss that too after a gap of eight years at the IS Bindra Stadium. That was about two weeks ago.

The three-time champions bounced back with back-to-back wins and now are eyeing revenge when they face an equally competitive Kings XI Punjab unit in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2019) at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

While MI trounced defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and thrashed Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), KXIP are making it tough for opposition sides to breach their fortress latest among them are last year s finalists, Hyderabad, who were handed a six-wicket thrashing. (VIDEO: KL Rahul takes KXIP to third spot with six-wicket win over SRH)

Having failed to put on a quality show so far, Rohit Sharma will look to lead by example and will use the opportunity on a batting-friendly Wankhede surface to strike form. Barring his 48, the India opener has struggled to get going with scores of 11,13, 32 and 14 in the remaining four games.

KXIP seem to have the right ammunition for conditions at Mumbai. While it cannot be denied that they have played their last two games on conditions that weren t best for batting in Chennai and Mohali they can take heart from the fact that their batting mainstay KL Rahul is back in the business of run scoring with Mayank Agarwal and Sarfaraz Khan proving good support systems. The visitors will want the Universe Boss Chris Gayle to come good. (ALSO READ: Another injury scare for Jasprit Bumrah)

With both teams looking to carry on with the momentum as the league slowly approaches the half-way mark, this contest surely will be a mouth-watering one.

What: Match 24, Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab

When: April 10 (Wednesday)

Where: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Time: 8 pm IST

On TV: Star Network (in India)

Weather: Sunny with a maximum high of 32 degrees Celsius

You can also follow LIVE coverage of the match on CricketCountry (Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI Punjab: SCORECARD)


Mumbai Indians

When Sri Lanka pacer Lasith Malinga prematurely left the squad, questions were raised on who could fill in his shoes. Alzarri Joseph settled that debate. The young West Indies pace gun pocketed record best figures in the IPL with 6/12 on debut as MI humbled Sunrisers in their own backyard. The hosts have a formidable pace attack with Jasprit Bumrah and left-arm Jason Behrendorff also there, along with Joseph and Hardik Pandya, to utilise the bounce and carry on the Wankhede track. MI will not tinker much with their squad. However, they may think of including Yuvraj Singh at the expense of Ishan Kishan.

Probable XI: 1. Rohit Sharma, 2. Quinton de Kock, 3. Suryakumar Yadav, 4. Ishan Kishan/Yuvraj Singh, 5. Krunal Pandya, 6. Kieron Pollard, 7. Hardik Pandya, 8. Rahul Chahar, 9. Alzarri Joseph, 10. Jason Behrendorff, 11. Jasprit Bumrah

Kings XI Punjab

Punjab have to target the MI top order and ensure that the big-striking Pollard and Hardik don’t take away the game like they did when carving 45 runs in the last two overs against CSK to turn the game around. MI s batting this year has not matched expectations, and skipper Ravichandran Ashwin (7 wickets) has got all the resources in Sam Curran, Mohammed Shami and Murugan Ashwin that makes KIP a potent bowling force. The only change KXIP may think of making is whether they want to play the extra pacer in Hardus Viljoen in place of Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Probable XI: 1. KL Rahul, 2. Chris Gayle, 3. Mayank Agarwal, 4. David Miller, 5. Mandeep Singh, 6. Sam Curran, 7. Sarfaraz Khan, 8. Ravichandran Ashwin, 9. Ankit Rajpoot, 10. Mohammed Shami, 11. Mujeeb Ur Rahman/Hardus Viljoen


Number of matches played: 23

Mumbai Indians wins: 12

Kings XI Punjab wins: 11

Tie: 0


We want to win as many games as possible at the start because we know how hectic it gets in the end. A few of the guys leaving for the World Cup doesn’t help either. To start the tournament is important and the last two games shows the quality we have in our squad. Rohit Sharma