The 291 by James Taylor is the 29th occasion of a batsman getting out in 290s in First-Class cricket © Getty Images
James Taylor hit 39 boundaries and two sixes during his 385-ball innings of 291 © Getty Images

In County Championship Division One, James Taylor was out for 291 for Nottinghamshire against Sussex on July 20, 2015. Bharath Seervi lists all the instances of nervous 290s in First-Class cricket — a list on which Taylor is the 29th.

Playing for Nottinghamshire against Sussex at Horsham in County Championship 2015 Division One, James Taylor went on to score 291 before getting out missing out on a triple century. When he walked out to bat Notts were reeling at 14 for 2; they soon became 30 for 3. Taylor and Riki Wessels added 144 for the fourth wicket, but once again they were 186 for 5. Australia levelling an Ashes series in the second Test after losing the first

Taylor then shared a partnership of 365 runs with Chris Read. He completed his century and was unbeaten on 163 on the first day. On Day Two he reached his double century. He got past his previous best score of 242 not out, scored his maiden 250, and fell nine runs short of his maiden triple ton. He was caught by Chris Nash off Steve Magoffin. The declaration was made with this dismissal at 570 for 7 wickets. Sussex could score only 213 and 254 in their two innings and lost the match by an innings and 103 runs. Steven Smith: 192, 199 and then 215 — the record-making machine

Taylor has a good habit of making it big whenever he gets the three-figure mark. Out of his 19 First-Class centuries, 10 have been in excess of 150, and six have been double-hundreds. He has been out only seven times after completing his 19 centuries and all were caught, which is kind of interesting. Ross Whiteley smashes 11 sixes in his innings of 35-ball 91

The 291 by Taylor is the 29th occasion of a batsman getting out in 290s in First-Class cricket. One must remember that the count of First-Class matches played till date exceeds 56,000 First-Class matches (of which a mere 2,172 have been Tests). About half of these First-Class matches have been played in England, where lies the origin of this game. Of the 29 nervous 290s, five have been in Tests. It was also the 40th First-Class 290 (the batsmen have remained not out 11 times). Highest team totals after losing a wicket on the first ball of a Test

The last batsman to get out in the 290s was Virender Sehwag, for India against Sri Lanka at Brabourne Stadium in a Test in 2009-10. The table below has the complete list:

The 29 nervous 290s in First-Class cricket

Scores Batsman For Against Venue Season
299 Martin Crowe New Zealand Sri Lanka Wellington 1990/91
Mike Powell Glamorgan Gloucestershire Cheltenham 2006
298 Daryl Mitchell Worcestershire Somerset Taunton 2009
297 Bhupinder Singh Punjab Delhi Kotla 1994/95
Matt Wood Somerset Yorkshire Taunton 2005
296 Arthur Jones Nottinghamshire Gloucestershire Trent Bridge 1903
John Reid Wellington Northern Districts Wellington 1962/63
295 Jack Ryder Victoria New South Wales MCG 1926/27
Les Ames Kent Gloucestershire Folkestone 1933
John Gunn Nottinghamshire Leicestershire Trent Bridge 1903
294 Allan Lamb Orange Free State Eastern Province Bloemfontein 1987/88
Alastair Cook England India Edgbaston 2011
293 Victor Trumper Australians Canterbury Christchurch 1913/14
Virender Sehwag India Sri Lanka Brabourne 2009/10
Lionel Palairet Somerset Hampshire Southampton 1896
292 Surendra Bhave West Zone South Zone Rourkela 1994/95
Mark Ramprakash Surrey Gloucestershire The Oval 2006
Eddie Paynter Lancashire Hampshire Southampton 1938
Viv Richards West Indies England The Oval 1976
291 Ian Greig Surrey Lancashire The Oval 1990
Ramnaresh Sarwan West Indies England Kensington Oval 2008/09
James Taylor Nottinghamshire Sussex Horsham 2015
Wally Hammond Gloucestershire Kent Tunbridge Wells 1934
Bill Carson Auckland Otago Dunedin 1936/37
Arthur Morris Australians Gloucestershire Bristol 1948
Zakir Butt Railways North West Frontier Province Peshawar 1972/73
290 Khalid Irtiza United Bank Limited Multan Karachi 1975/76
Hrishikesh Kanitkar Maharashtra Bihar Jamadoba 2002/03
Salman Butt Punjab Federal Areas Lahore 2007/08

–          Of the 29 dismissals, 15 have been in England, 4 in India, 4 in New Zealand, 3 in Pakistan, and 1 in each of Australia, South Africa and West Indies. There have been no such instances in Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe — the other Test-playing nations.

–          No batsman has got out in 290s more than once, though Victor Trumper has two scores in 290s (292* and 290), one being not out. He is the only one with two such scores.

–          Bill Carson’s and Khalid Irtiza’s innings were their maiden First-Class hundreds.

–          Trumper’s maiden First-Class hundred was his 292 not out..

–          Among the above names, only few scored triple-hundreds in their career. They are Trumper, Sehwag, Mark Ramprakash, Eddie Paynter, Viv Richards and Wally Hammond. The other never went past the 290s.

–          Apart from Martin Crowe and Mike Powell, Don Bradman and Shantanu Sugwekar are the others to miss their triple centuries by one run. They ran out of partners while on 299.

–          The other not out scores in 290s in this century are 295* by Ali Brown (2000) and 296* by Fawad Alam (2008-09).

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at He can be followed on Twitter at @SeerviBharath and on Facebook here)