Glenn Maxwell will captain the Kings XI Punjab in 2017    AFP
Glenn Maxwell will captain the Kings XI Punjab in 2017 AFP

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) are one of the three teams who have not won a single title since the inception of Indian Premier League (IPL). From Yuvraj Singh to Kumar Sangakkara to George Bailey, none of them could get them to the finishing line. However, they have a new man at the helm now and their 9th overall. Australia’s Glenn Maxwell will lead the side in the 10th edition of this Indian T20 gala. Adored as Glenndeep Singh Maxwell in Punjab, he has single-handedly won many a match for Preity Zinta-owned side (also partnered by Ness Wadia, The Oberoi Group, among a few others). Anyway, Maxwell will look to inject his aggressive brand of cricket into the team and pull off something they have not so far. Kings XI Punjab in IPL 2017, Preview: Glenn Maxwell s side looks ready for the Big Show

However, KXIP will miss the services of opener and former captain Murali Vijay, as he has an injured shoulder and is under rehabilitation. Besides, they have a player of Hashim Amla’s class who can manage the opening department. All in all, they have covered all the bases to clinch the trophy. But it is the same old story: they fail to sensibly apply themselves and end up at the doorstep of defeat. Whether they will turn the tide or history will repeat itself in 2017, is a question only time will tell.

Let us walk through KXIP’s journey via some intriguing stats provided by Abhishek Kumar.

Though Piyush Chawla now plays for Kolkata Knight Riders, he started his IPL episodes from KXIP. He, for that matter, has played most number of matches for them. After him ranks Shaun Marsh, the only overseas player to play for the same team since first edition.

Most matches (KXIP)
Piyush Chawla 87
Shaun Marsh 62
David Miller 61
Axar Patel 45
Praveen Kumar 44

It does not come as a surprise that Chawla tops the chart of the most wicket-takers. For pacer Sandeep Sharma to surpass the leg-spinner, he will have to take over 30 wickets this season.

Most wickets
Piyush Chawla 84
Sandeep Sharma 54
Irfan Pathan 47
Axar Patel 43
Parvinder Awana 39


However, swing bowler Praveen Kumar takes the cake when it comes to bowling maidens, although Sandeep may surpass him this India summer.

Most maidens
Praveen Kumar 10
Sandeep Sharma 8
Irfan Pathan 3
Axar Patel 2
Parvinder Awana 2


Remember Yusuf Abdulla, the South African cricketer? No? Okay. He has most number of four-fors, by the way.

Most 4WIs
Yusuf Abdulla 2


You got to remember Dimitri Mascarenhas. Of course, he had hit five consecutive sixes against Yuvraj Singh in England. Yes, that guy. He has 5 for 25 to his name.

Player BBI Against Season
Dimitri Mascarenhas 5 for 25 Pune Warriors 2012


Praveen was brilliant at keeping a lid on the runs (though not emotions). It was, in fact, difficult to put away his low full-tosses in death overs.

Best economy (20 overs)
Praveen Kumar 6.96
Ramesh Powar 7.03
Yuvraj Singh 7.25
Brett Lee 7.36
Axar Patel 7.38


And then, there is a list of KXIP players who have taken hat-tricks. Damn, Abhishek dug too deep. However, did you know Yuvraj has taken two hat-tricks in a season?

Hat-trick player Batsmen Against Venue Season
Yuvraj Singh Robin Uthappa Royal Challengers Bangalore Durban 2009
Mark Boucher
Jacques Kallis
Yuvraj Singh Herschelle Gibbs Deccan Chargers Hyderabad Johannesburg 2009
Andrew Symonds
Venugopal Rao
Axar Patel Dwayne Bravo Gujarat Lions Rajkot 2016
Ravindra Jadeja
Dinesh akarthik


Wriddhiman Saha, India’s wicketkeeper in the longest format, has most number of stumpings to his name. Given Sangakkara and Adam Gilchrist no longer play in IPL, Saha’s numbers will keep scaling up.

Most stumpings
Wriddhiman Saha 10
Kumar Sangakkara 7
Adam Gilchrist 3
Nitin Saini 2
Gurkeerat Singh 1


Saha has most number of dismissals as well. In fact, if he keeps playing for India, he might as well surpass Sangakkara and Gilchrist at international level one fine day (too optimistic?).

Most dismissals
Wriddhiman Saha 36
Adam Gilchrist 29
Kumar Sangakkara 23
Nitin Saini 11


Enough with the bowlers. Let us take a look at the batsmen now.

If Marsh has been participating since the first edition, he has to dominate the runs chart. Saha, on the other hand, recently completed 1,000 runs in Tests. He might as well achieve the same in IPL.

Most runs
Shaun Marsh 2,213
David Miller 1,480
Kumar Sangakkara 1,009
Yuvraj Singh 894
Wriddhiman Saha 881


Marsh, again, has the most number of half-centuries. I wonder why isn’t he the captain.

Most 50s
Shaun Marsh 19
David Miller 9
Kumar Sangakkara 8
Glenn Maxwell 6
Murali Vijay 5


Marsh is boring me now. KXIP should give him a lifetime achievement award.

Most 4s
Shaun Marsh 230
Kumar Sangakkara 117
Adam Gilchrist 103
David Miller 100
Mandeep Singh 95


And finally he plays a second fiddle but only by a miniscule margin.

Most 6s
David Miller 74
Shaun Marsh 73
Glenn Maxwell 52
Yuvraj Singh 49
Wriddhiman Saha 29


Thank you, Miller, for not letting Marsh win everything. Thank you for your safe pair of hands.

Most catches
David Miller 40
Shaun Marsh 24
Piyush Chawla 22
Mahela Jayawardene 16
Axar Patel 16


Here is a list of hundreds. Say hello (or bye) to Marsh again.

Player Runs Against Season
Shaun Marsh 115 (69) Rajasthan Royals 2008
Mahela Jayawardene 110* (59) Kolkata Knight Riders 2010
Paul Valthaty 120* (63) Chennai Super Kings 2011
Adam Gilchrist 106 (55) Royal Challengers Bangalore 2011
David Miller 101* (38) Royal Challengers Bangalore 2013
Virender Sehwag 122 (58) Chennai Super Kings 2014
Wriddhiman Saha 115* (55) Kolkata Knight Riders 2014


We finally have a list that does not feature Marsh at all. However, Maxwell has a long way to go if he is to surpass Gilchrist. Goodness, KXIP have had three Australians as their captain. Maxwell becomes the fourth victim.

As captain
Player Matches
Adam Gilchrist 34
George Bailey 30
Yuvraj Singh 29
Kumar Sangakkara 13
David Hussey 12

Under Maxwell’s captaincy, KXIP will eagerly want their first title.