This is the 4th time MI reached IPL final © BCCI
This is the 4th time MI reached IPL final © BCCI

4th time Mumbai Indians (MI) have reached the final in the history of Indian Premier League (IPL). This is the 2nd-most by a single team after Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who have reached the final in 6 editions. One must remember that CSK have played only 8 editions of the tournament and MI 10. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: Mumbai Indians (MI) vs Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), IPL 10, Qualifier 2

33 balls remaining MI clinched victory over KKR in Qualifier 2, the biggest margin in terms of balls remaining in an IPL playoff. The previous best was 31 balls by CSK against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP); CSK won the match by 9 wickets in the second semi-final of IPL 2008 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

3rd-lowest total in a playoff match of IPL — KKR’s 107. The other two teams with lower totals in a playoff match are 87 by Delhi Daredevils (DD) against Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2008 and 104 by Deccan Chargers (DC) against CSK in 2010. This is also the 4th-lowest total by KKR against MI.

4 for 16 bowling figures of Karn Sharma in this match, joint-best by a spinner in an IPL playoff. Anil Kumble took 4 for 16 for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against DC in the final of IPL 2009. Overall, this was the joint 3rd-best bowling figures by a bowler in a playoff, after Doug Bollinger (4 for 13 for CSK against MI in 2010) and Dhawal Kulkarni (4 for 14 for Gujarat Lions [GL] against RCB in 2016).

2.33 economy rate of Jasprit Bumrah in his bowling spell of 3-1-7-3, the best by a bowler in an IPL playoff match with a 2 over cut-off. The previous best was 2.75 by Akshar Patel (4-1-11-2 for KXIP against KKR in the first qualifier of 2014).

5th batsman to score 3,000 runs for single franchise in IPL — Rohit Sharma. The four others are Virat Kohli (3,016 for RCB), Suresh Raina (3,669 for CSK), Chris Gayle (3,163 for RCB) and Gautam Gambhir (3,041 for KKR).

0 players to have more runs against KKR than Rohit, who now has 710 runs against KKR at 47.33; he went past Raina’s tally of 701 runs (at 46.73).

3rd consecutive defeat for KKR against MI in this edition of IPL, the most by them in a single season against one team. MI had also beaten CSK thrice in 2013 and 2015. However, CSK hold the record of beating a side thrice most often: they beat KXIP thrice in 2008, RCB in 2011 and 2015 and MI in 2014.

7th win for MI while chasing in IPL 2017, the joint-most by any team. KKR have also won 7 matches while chasing in this season of IPL. This is the 3rd instance of two teams winning 7 or more matches while chasing in one season of IPL after 2014 (CSK 7, KKR 7) and 2012 (DD 9, MI 7). The record for a single team is 9, jointly held by DD (2012) and RR (2008).