Gujarat became 17th team to claim the Ranji Trophy title    Chinmay Jawalekar
Gujarat became 17th team to claim the Ranji Trophy title Chinmay Jawalekar

The 83rd season of Ranji Trophy ended with a new champion in Gujarat, who beat Mumbai by 5 wickets and claimed their maiden title. This was Mumbai‘s 46th appearance in the final of the Ranji Trophy the most by any team.

Gujarat, playing only in their second final, chased down a stiff target off 312 thanks to skipper Parthiv Patel‘s heroic knock of 143 on the final day. With this, Gujarat became champions for the first time, making several new records.

Mumbai had lost their first ever Ranji final in the same city: Indore against Holkar in 1947-48. To make matters more interesting, captains from either side were wicketkeeper-batsman. More such interesting facts and figures are as follows:

In this 83rd season of Ranji Trophy, Gujarat became the 17th team to lift the title and only 5th team to beat Mumbai in the final. The previous teams to beat Mumbai in the finals were Holkar in 1947-48, Delhi in 1979-80, Karnataka in 1982-83 and Haryana in 1990-91. Gujarat’s last appearance in the final was in 1950-51, which they lost to Holkar by 189 runs.

Gujarat had earlier won Vijay Hazare Trophy (List A) in 2015-16 and Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20) in 2014-15. They became the 5th team to have won all three trophies after Tamil Nadu, Baroda, Bengal and Uttar Pradesh.

Gujarat’s chase of 312, with the loss of five wickets, is the highest in a Ranji Trophy final highest by Gujarat and also by any team against Mumbai. Previous highest chase in the final of Ranji was Hyderabad’s 310 in 1937-38 against Nawanagar. In addition, the previous highest chase against Mumbai was 294 by Punjab in 2004-05.

Gujarat took lead against Mumbai for the second time in this season, which made them the 1st team to do this in a single season in last 10 years.

Mumbai’s total of 228, in their first innings, is their 3rd lowest in Ranji finals, after 151 against Tamil Nadu in 1972-73 and 191 against Holkar in 1947-48. In addition, out of their five defeats in Ranji finals, this was their 4th outright loss.

Parthiv scored 143 in the final innings, which is the 4th highest score in the fourth innings in a Ranji final after 249* by Denis Compton in 1944-45, 152 by Jasu Patel in 1950-51 and 144 by Manish Pandey in 2009-10. Parthiv’s 143 is also the highest in 4th innings in a Ranji final in a winning cause.

Priyank Panchal scored 40 in the final and took his tally to 1,310 runs in this season, which is the 3rd highest by a batsman in a season after VVS Laxman 1,415 in 1999-2000, Shreyas Iyer 1,321 in 2015-16.

Panchal scored 9 fifties in this season, the joint-most by a Gujarat batsman in a single season after Parthiv in 2012-13. He also scored 5 centuries the most by a Gujarat batsman.

Chintan Gaja scalped 8 wickets in the final. He got 2 for 46 in the first innings and 6 for 121 in the second. Before this match, he had taken only 3 wickets in the group matches of the tournament. He did not play in quarter-final and semi-final.

Shahbaz Nadeem took 56 wickets, the most from a Jharkhand bowler and 7th most in a Ranji Trophy season after Bishan Singh Bedi (64 in 1974-75), Dodda Ganesh (62 in 1998-99), Kanwaljit Singh (62 in 1999-2000), Srinivas Venkataraghavan (58 in 1972-73), Maninder Singh (58 in 1991-92) and Ranadeb Bose (57 in 2006-07).

Aditya Tare registered 47 dismissals as wicketkeeper this season the second most in the history of the tournament after 48 by himself in previous season. From 47 dismissals, 43 were catches the third most in a season of Ranji after Srikar Bharat (45 in 2014-15) and Tare (45 in 2015-16).

Ishank Jaggi took 16 catches as non-wicketkeeper the most in this season of Ranji Trophy and most by a Jharkhand player in a season. The record for most catches by a fielder in a Ranji season is of Wasim Jaffer’s 23 in 2003-04.

A total of 12 players scored 300 runs and scalped 25 wickets in this season of Ranji Trophy the most in any season. Previous best was of 7 players in a season, in 2014-14 and 2014-15. The 12 players who entered the list this season are:







Saurabh Bandekar




Samiullah Beigh

Jammu and Kashmir



Rishi Dhawan

Himachal Pradesh



Gurinder Singh




Iqbal Abdulla




Shadab Jakati




Chama Milind




Manisankar Murasingh




Sanjay Pahal




Parvez Rasool

Jammu and Kashmir



Karn Sharma




Kuldeep Yadav

Uttar Pradesh