Abhinav Mukund was only the fourth captain to inflict an innings defeat on Mumbai; the first three were Arthur Wensley, Maharaja of Baroda, and Pheroze Cambhatta © Getty Images
Abhinav Mukund was only the fourth captain to inflict an innings defeat on Mumbai; the first three were Albert Wensley, Maharaja of Baroda, and Pheroze Cambhatta © Getty Images

It took almost 64 years (just over a month less than the mark) for Mumbai to lose by an innings, this time to Tamil Nadu at Chepauk. Abhishek Mukherjee looks back at the other previous occasions, all of which came against sides from Gujarat.

Mumbai were called Bombay when they lost by an innings in the Ranji Trophy last time, Sunil Gavaskar was less than two years old, India were yet to win a Test, the highest score in Test cricket was Len Hutton’s 364, and the best bowling figures were George Lohmann’s nine for 28.

It took a month less than 64 years for Abhinav Mukund’s men to trounce Mumbai by an innings. Mukund opened with left-arm spinner Rahil Shah a rank turner at Chepauk; Rahil claimed seven for 34 as Mumbai were bowled out for 141. In response, Vijay Shankar (95) and Baba Indrajith (101) gave Tamil Nadu a 276-run lead before the spinners took over again. Bowled out for 232, Mumbai slumped to an innings defeat.

It was not the first time that Mumbai lost by an innings. Interestingly, all their previous innings defeats had come against sides from Gujarat — Nawanagar (now Saurashtra) in 1937-38, Baroda in 1949-50, and Gujarat in 1950-51.

Ajitsinhji Ground, Jamnagar, January 11, 12, 1938: Nawanagar won by an innings and 130 runs

It was a complete rout. Vijay Merchant batted first, only for Amar Singh to bowl unchanged for 14.1 overs to skittle Bombay for 45. Amar Singh claimed six for 22 with Mubarak Ali and Shute Banerjee chipping in. The Bombay bowlers hit back, and with Nawanagar down to 141 for seven they might have sniffed a chance.

But they ran into Amar Singh once again. The great man (he would pass away two years later) muscled his way to 140 not out, scored out of a team score of 185 during his stay. Once again Mubarak Ali (97 for the seventh-wicket stand) and Banerjee (unbeaten 51 for the eighth) helped him, and Albert Wensley declared overnight with a 244-run lead. Bombay were bowled out for 114 next day.

Brief scores:

Bombay 45 (Amar Singh 6 for 22) and 114 (Dattaram Hindlekar 54; Vinoo Mankad 3 for 43, Maharaj Shri Ranvirsinhji 3 for 12) lost to Nawanagar 289 for 8 decl. (Vinoo Mankad 53, Amar Singh 140*) by an innings and 130 runs.

Maharaja Pratapsingh Coronation Gymkhana Ground, Baroda, November 18, 19, 20, 1949: Baroda won by an innings and 18 runs

Vijay Hazare won it for Baroda — with the ball. Once Madhav Mantri decided to bat, Vijay Hazare ran through them with five wickets and two catches. With his brother Vivek also chipping in with two wickets Bombay were bowled out for a mere 114 on Day One. Baroda were reduced to 30 for three in response (Vijay Hazare fell for a duck) when Gul Mohammad joined Datta Gaekwad.

The pair put on 137, and with the Maharaja of Baroda contributing as well, Baroda raced to a 219-run lead, being bowled out at stumps on Day Two. Polly Umrigar fought hard, but once again Vijay Hazare claimed three wickets, as did Gul Mohammad, and Bombay crashed to an innings defeat.

Brief scores:

Bombay 114 (Vijay Hazare 5 for 48) and 201 (Polly Umrigar 86; Vijay Hazare 3 for 71, Gul Mohammad 3 for 37) lost to Baroda 333 (Datta Gaekwad 108, Gul Mohammad 56, Maharaja of Baroda 51; Ghulam Guard 3 for 53, Jayasinhrao Ghorpade 3 for 77) by an innings and 18 runs.

Commerce College Ground, Ahmedabad, February 24, 25, 26, 1951: Gujarat won an innings and 146 runs

Pheroze Cambhatta’s Gujarat inflicted the biggest defeat on Bombay. Cambhatta put Bombay in, Mantri carried his bat through the innings with a gallant 64, and though Mankad cleaned up the tail quickly, Bombay amassed a respectable 229. That was where their joy ended.

Sadu Shinde, with his assortment of leg-breaks and googlies, claimed eight wickets in a marathon spell, but with five men scoring fifties (three of them went past eighty) Gujarat ran away with the initiative; they eventually took a lead of 276. Hussain Reshamwala took the first four Bombay wickets, reducing them to 11 for four; they never recovered, and though the last three wickets added 65, a meagre 110 was all they could manage.

Brief scores:

Bombay 229 (Madhav Mantri 64*; Vinoo Mankad 4 for 60) and 110 (Hussain Reshamwala 4 for 14) lost to Gujarat 505 (Polly Umrigar 89, Pheroze Cambhatta 64, Walter D’Souza 91, Vinoo Mankad 52; Sadu Shinde 8 for 162) by an innings and 146 runs.

(Abhishek Mukherjee is the Chief Editor and Cricket Historian at CricketCountry. He blogs here and can be followed on Twitter here.)