live cricket score, live score, live score cricket, india vs england live, india vs england live score, ind vs england live cricket score, india vs england 3rd test match live, india vs england 3rd test live, cricket live score, cricket score, cricket, live cricket streaming, live cricket video, live cricket, cricket live mohali
Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin added 67 runs for 7th wicket partnership AFP

The second day of the third Test between India and England started with visitors reeling at 268 for 8. Adil Rashid and Gareth Batty resumed England s innings but soon it was wrapped up for 283. Rashid and Batty, the two last wickets to fall, were picked by Mohammed Shami. Coming to India s innings, they started pretty decently with Parthiv Patel and Murali Vijay adding 39 runs for firstwicket. Vijay got out early after scoring 12, while Parthiv fell 8 runs short of his fifty. After them, skipper Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara added 75 runs together for the third wicket. Pujara scored another impactful 51 before falling just after tea

On the other hand, Kohli continued to score from the other end but lost two more partners in the form of Ajinkya Rahane and Karun Nair. Further, Kohli too was dismissed after scoring 62. At that stage, it looked like England may fold India s innings soon but thanks to Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who remained unbeaten till the end of day s play with the former scoring yet another fifty. At the end of Day Two s play, India were placed at 271 for 6, trailing by 12 runs. Meanwhile, we present some interesting numbers from second day s play of this Test.

With 52 Test dismissals, Parthiv has now sixth-most dismissals in Tests as an Indian wicketkeeper after MS Dhoni (294), Syed Kirmani (198), Kiran More (130), Nayan Mongia (107) and Farokh Engineer (82). Parthiv went past Naren Tamhane s tally of 51 dismissals.

England scored 283 despite losing first four wickets under 100 runs. Last such instance of a team scoring above 283 after losing four wickets under 100 runs in a Test in India was 349 by Australia in 2001 at Mumbai.

Parthiv opened batting with Murali Vijay for India in this Test. Last instance of an Indian wicketkeeper opening batting was in 2007 by Dinesh Karthik in 2007 against South Africa at Cape Town. At home it was Deep Dasgupta, who opened batting for India and kept wickets against Zimbabwe at Delhi in 2002.

Parthiv and Vijay became fifth opening pair for India in 2016. No other team has used five opening pairs this year. Australia, West Indies, England and Zimbabwe have used four opening pairs in 2016. Other four Indian opening pairs in this year are: Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul, Gautam Gambhir and Vijay, Dhawan and Vijay and Rahul and Vijay.

12.60 Ajinkya Rahane s average in this series. He has scored only 63 runs from five innings. Also, Rahane got out for duck in this innings, which was his fourth duck in Tests and second against England.

Karun Nair became 12th Indian player to get run out on his debut Test. Last Indian to achieve this unwanted feat was Anil Kumble in 1990 against Manchester.

959 runs for Kohli in 2016: This is the third-most runs by an Indian captain in a calendar year after Rahul Dravid (1,095 runs in 2006) and Sachin Tendulkar (1,000 runs in 1997). Kohli went past Sourav Ganguly s tally of 945 runs in 2002.

500-plus runs and 50-plus wickets for Ravichandran Ashwin in 2016: He became only the second Indian to do so in a calendar year after Kapil Dev, who did it twice in his career 1979 and 1983. Overall, Ashwin becomes seventh player to achieve this feat after Ian Botham (1978 and 1981), Kapil Dev (1979 and 1983), Shaun Pollock (1998 and 2001), Andrew Flintoff (2005), Daniel Vettori (2008) and Mitchell Johnson (2009).

5 fifty-plus scores and 5-wicket hauls for Ashwin in 2016: He became second cricketer to do so in a calendar year after Vettori in 2008.

1,003 runs for Ashwin at home: Ashwin now has 1,003 runs while batting at No. 6 or below. He became 10th Indian cricketer to reach this landmark at No. 6 or below after Kapil Dev (2,765 runs), MS Dhoni (2,241 runs), Syed Kirmani (1,462 runs), Ravi Shastri (1,313 runs), Anil Kumble (1,235 runs), VVS Laxman (1,119 runs), Harbhajan Singh (1,047 runs), Sourav Ganguly (1,028 runs) and Chandu Borde (1,009 runs).

(Abhishek Kumar is a cricket devotee currently staffing with CricLife and He can be followed at @abhik2593)