MS Dhoni and his side have failed to live up to the expectations in IPL 9 with lackluster performances © AFP
MS Dhoni and his side have failed to live up to the expectations in IPL 9 with lackluster performances © AFP

With just a few matches left in the group stages of the Indian Premier League, (IPL) 2016, bottom ranked teams, Rising Pune Supergiants take on Kings XI Punjab at YS Rajashekhar Reddy stadium at Visakhapatnam on Saturday. It will be an opportunity for both teams to avoid the ignominy of finishing last in the standings. Both the teams would like to get a good combination to end their struggling campaign on a high. Here is a probable XI Rising Pune Supergiants may field against Murali Vijay’s side: Full Cricket Scorecard: Rising Pune Supergiants  vs  Kings XI Punjab , Live Score, 53rd T20 Match, IPL 2016

Top-order: Their top-order is not bad but hasn’t looked up to the mark after missing the services of their key overseas players due to injuries. Ajinkya Rahane started the IPL on a good note but has looked a little out of touch since then. He will still open with Usman Khawaja who has given good starts but failed to convert it big for his team. Sourav Tiwary will take guards on the fall of first wicket followed by the experienced, George Bailey at No.4.

Middle-order: RPS depend heavily on their captain, MS Dhoni, who will come at No.5 followed by Sri Lanka’s Thisara Perera. Irfan Pathan will come down at No.7 and try to make one more chance to feature in India’s upcoming tour to Zimbabwe with an all-round performance.

Bowlers: RPS’ bowling attack has been inconsistent as ever. Few bowlers have come good for them at times but collectively they have under-performed. RP Singh, Ashok Dinda, Irfan Pathan, Thisara Perera will form the pace attack while the spin department will include Adam Zampa and R. Ashwin. The senior Ashwin has a god record in Vizag and he would like to maintain that today as well. Murugan Ashwin may not make it to the XI as he was unfit for the last match.

RPS’ likely XI against KXIP: Ajinkya Rahane, Usman Khawaja, Sourav Tiwary, George Bailey, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Thisara Perera, Irfan Pathan, R. Ashwin, RP Singh, Ashok Dinda, Adam Zampa

(Aditya Sahay is a journalist with who is completely into sports and loves writing about cricket in general. He can be followed on Twitter at adisahay7)