Steve O'Keefe    IANS
Steve O’Keefe’s six wickets came off just 24 balls IANS

Left-arm spinner Steve O Keefe grabbed a career-best haul of 6 for 35 to put Australia on top before skipper Steve Smith added to India’s misery with an unbeaten fifty in the first Test at Pune. The visitors reached 143 for 4 at stumps on Day Two, which saw a total of 15 wickets fall. O’Keefe s six wickets came off just 24 balls, helping Australia bundle India out for 105. Smith on 59 and Mitchell Marsh on 21 were at the crease, as Australia stretched their lead to 298 runs. Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin claimed three wickets, including the early scalps of openers David Warner and Shaun Marsh. With this record-breaking day, we present some interesting statistical highlights from the contest.

2nd-oldest visiting left-arm spinner to take a 6-wicket haul in India O Keefe. He is 32 years 76 days, and is only behind Tony Lock, who was 32 years 189 days old when he took in India in 1961-62. O Keefe is also the third left-arm visiting spinner to take a 6-for among the players after 30, after Lock and Monty Panesar, whose 6 for 81 in 2012-13 came at 30 years 212 days.

5 runs conceded by O Keefe for his 6 wickets (he went from 0 for 30 to 6 for 35). This is the joint 6th-best 6-wicket spell in history after 6 for 0 (Jermaine Lawson), 6 for 2 (Derek Underwood) and 6 for 4 (Fred Trueman, Underwood and Phil Tufnell). Trueman and Stuart Broad also had spells of 6 for 5. Courtesy: Charles Davis.

3rd-best bowling figures any visiting left-arm spinner in India 6 for 35 by O Keefe. Only Hedley Verity (7 for 49 in 1933-34) and Michael Clarke (6 for 9 in 2004-05) have better figures. O Keefe s bowling figures are the 9th-best by any visiting spinner in India.

60.95% runs of India s total were scored by KL Rahul. He scored 64 from India s total of 104. This is the fourth-highest by an Indian in an all-out innings after VVS Laxman (63.98% 167 out of 261 in 1999-00), Mohinder Amarnath (61.86% 60 out of 97 in 1975-76) and Virender Sehwag (61.09% 201 out of 329 in 2008).

105 India s first-innings total. This is their 2nd-lowest total against Australia at home and 5th-lowest against them anywhere. India s lowest at home against Australia is 104 at Mumbai in 2004-05.

11 runs for which India lost their last 7 wickets, their worst 7-wicket collapse. Their previous worst was of 18 runs against New Zealand at Christchurch in 1989-90.

1st duck for Virat Kohli in Tests since 2014. Kohli has played 104 international innings during this phase, the 3rd-highest without a duck after Rahul Dravid (173 between January 2000 and February 2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (136 between July 2008 and November 2013).

Virat Kohli    AFP
Virat Kohli’s last duck in international cricket came agains England in 2014 AFP

67 wickets for Ashwin in 2016-17, the 2nd-most wickets by a bowler in a season. Ashwin is only behind Dale Steyn’s record of 78 wickets in 2007-08 season. Ashwin went past Kapil Dev (63 wickets in 1979-80), Anil Kumble (64 in 2004-05) and Gleen McGrath (66 in 1998-99).

1st left-arm spinner from Australian to open bowling against in India O Keefe. He also became the 4th Australian spinner to open bowling in India after Nathan Lyon (twice) in 2012-13, Glenn Maxwell in 2012-13 and Nathan Hauritz in 2004-05.

1st instance of Ashwin opening bowling in both innings of a Test against Australia. This was also the 5th instance of Ashwin opening bowling in both innings, the most by any Indian spinner if one does not include ML Jaisimha’s 13.

155-run-lead taken by Australia. This is the first instance of a visiting team taking lead of over 150 against India in India since 2012-13. England were the last team to do so in 2012-13 at Kolkata.

7th instance of Ashwin dismissing Warner, the joint-most by any bowler. James Anderson has also dismissed Warner 7 times.

5th visiting spinner to take a 6-wicket haul in his maiden Test in India O Keefe. The first four spinners were Richie Benaud (7 for 72 in 1956-57), Jim Higgs (7 for 143 in 1979-80), Jason Krejza (8 for 215 in 2008-09) and Shane Shillingford (6 for 167 in 2013-14).

3rd instance of Ashwin dismissing Shaun Marsh in Tests, the 2nd-most by an Indian bowler after Umesh Yadav for 5 times, which is also the most by any bowler.

8 Indian batsmen were dismissed between the score of 0 to 6. This is 5th such instance for India at home, and 1st against Australia at home. The last such instance happened in 2007-08 against South Africa at Ahmedabad. Overall, this is the 13th instance in Indian Test history.

2nd Australian to score 1,000 runs in 14 innings Steve Smith. Matthew Hayden also reached there in 14 innings. Smith also became the 11th Australian to score 1,000 runs against India. Overall, Smith is the joint 3rd-fastest to 1,000 runs against India after Everton Weekes (10 innings) and Younis Khan (11). Andy Flower also achieved this feat in 14 innings.

92.36 batting average of Smith against India, the highest by any Australian batsman against any opponent (qualification: 1,000 runs). This is also the third best batting average by any batsman against India after Weekes (1,495 at 106.78) and Andy Flower (1,138 at 94.83). Overall, Smith s average is the 7th-best by a batsman irrespective of opponent.

40.1 overs played by India, the shortest completed innings by them against Australia at home. The previous record was of 40.3 overs in 2004-05 at Mumbai. Overall, this is the 6th-shortest completed innings by India at home.

8th fifty score by Smith against India, the 2nd-most him against any team after England (9). Moreover, 5 out of his 8 have come for him as captain. The record of most fifties by an Australian captain against India is 10, by Bob Simpson.

3 catches taken by Peter Handscomb today. The last time an Australian fielder took 3 catches in an innings was back in the first innings of the Nagpur Test of 2004-05. Interestingly, both Michael Clarke and Shane Warne held 3 catches in that innings.

99 runs scored by Matt Renshaw in this Test (68 and 31). He is the 7th visiting batsman to score exactly 99 runs in a Test on Indian soil. Interestingly, Renshaw is the only one to have achieved this after getting dismissed twice. Ian Chappell and Javed Miandad had scored 99s in their only innings, while the others (John R Reid, Kim Hughes, Paul Downton and Matthew Hayden) had all remained unbeaten once every Test.