SRH are defending champions of IPL    AFP
SRH are defending champions of IPL AFP

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have been a part of Indian Premier League (IPL) since 2013. They started by retaining 20 cricketers from the now-defunct Deccan Chargers (DC). They made it to the Playoffs in 2013 but lost the Eliminator to Rajasthan Royals. In 2014 and 2015 they did not even reach to that stage. Constant changes at the helm did not help SRH s cause: Kumar Sangakkara, their first captain, was replaced midway through 2013 by Cameron White, while in 2014 they started with Shikhar Dhawan (their only Indian captain till date) but finished with Darren Sammy. Good sense prevailed in 2015 when they stuck to David Warner. In 2016 they became the fifth team to lift the IPL. If we go by cities, then Hyderabad has won two IPL titles (one by each of DC and SRH), the same as Chennai, Kolkata, and Mumbai. They are also one of the two cities (Pune being the other) to become the home of two different franchises. SRH in IPL 2017 schedule: Team and squad details, match timetable and venues

Only five teams from the first edition of IPL are still around: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Mumbai Indians (MI), Delhi Daredevils (DD), and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). SRH do not have the heritage of these matches, but they have still played 68 matches in IPL. Let us have a look at the statistical highlights from these matches.

Most matches (SRH)
Shikhar Dhawan 55
Karn Sharma 46
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 45
David Warner 45
Naman Ojha 42

Though Warner has been SRH s most successful captain, he came to the team much later. Dhawan has played most matches for them.

Most Runs
David Warner 1,938
Shikhar Dhawan 1,542
Naman Ojha 505
Moises Henriques 478
Eoin Morgan 310

Despite Dhawan playing 10 matches more than Warner, the latter tops the runs chart by far. Do note the 1,037-run difference between Dhawan and Naman Ojha, No. 3 on the list.

Most 50s
David Warner 22
Shikhar Dhawan 12
Aaron Finch 2
Eoin Morgan 2
Moises Henriques 2

This is yet another lopsided table. While Warner has amassed 22 fifties and Dhawan 12, nobody else has managed even 3. It shows how dependent SRH are on their two star openers.

Most 4s
David Warner 192
Shikhar Dhawan 182
Parthiv Patel 37
Moises Henriques 35
Naman Ojha 33


Most 6s
David Warner 76
Shikhar Dhawan 26
Naman Ojha 26
Moises Henriques 19
Darren Sammy 18

As expected, Warner and Dhawan have hit most fours and sixes. Do note the presence of Moises Henriques in both tables: he is a better batsman than most are aware of.

Most wickets
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 61
Karn Sharma 36
Dale Steyn 33
Amit Mishra 28
Moises Henriques 27

Bhuvneshwar Kumar leads the wickets tally, to nobody s surprise, but Karn Sharma hogging the second spot is a surprise. Henriques sneaks in here as well.

Most maidens
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4
Dale Steyn 3
Ishant Sharma 2

Maidens are a rarity in T20 cricket. It is no surprise that there have been only 9 of them for SRH. What is perhaps a tad surprising is the fact that Ishant Sharma has bowled 2 of these.

Most 4WIs
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2
Darren Sammy 1
Amit Mishra 1
Karn Sharma 1

There have been only 5 four-wicket hauls.

Best economy (20 overs)
Dale Steyn 6.89
Mustafizur Rahman 6.9
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 7.32
Amit Mishra 7.37
Ashish Nehra 7.65

This is the least surprising list of all. Dale Steyn has been the most economic bowler for SRH, but not by much. The next four names Mustafizur Rahman, Bhuvneshwar, Amit Mishra, and Ashish Nehra are all T20 giants.

Most catches
David Warner 20
Shikhar Dhawan 19
Moises Henriques 13
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 13
Dale Steyn 12

Warner and Dhawan have taken most catches as well, but hey, you cannot really keep Henriques out of this, can you?

Most stumpings
Parthiv Patel 3
Naman Ojha 2
Quinton de Kock 1


Most dismissals
Naman Ojha 32
Parthiv Patel 8
Quinton de Kock 3
KL Rahul 2
Kumar Sangakkara 1

Though Ojha leads the wicketkeeper s tally by the proverbial mile, Parthiv Patel has one stumping more.

Hat-trick player Batsmen Against Venue Season
Amit Mishra Bhuvneshwar Kumar Pune Warriors India Pune 2013
Rahul Sharma
Ashoke Dinda

Mishra has taken 3 hat-tricks in IPL, one of which was for SRH.